DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Hidden Hands »

I have supplied as much as I can. Here are 2 screenshots of my setup.

I have never had this trouble before. But I must have missed something this time... The idea is to interact with Telephone on the table in MAP01 in order to activate a dialogue (from DIALOG01) that tells the player that the line is dead. But when I interact with the phone, nothing happens. Have I missed something here and have I done something wrong? I am working in GZDOOM2 UDMF ... Any help is much appreciated,

thanks in advance.
Attachments
dialog2.png
dialog2.png (6.57 KiB) Viewed 332 times
dialog1.png
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Hidden Hands »

Has anyone got a solution for me with this yet? I'm just having a lot of trouble with it. I cannot interact with the telephone to trigger the dialog. I have the CONVERSATION ID set to 1 for the telephone and the DIALOG01 lump seems to be set up right. Any help please?

Code: Select all

namespace = "ZDoom";
include = "SCRIPT00";

conversation
{
    // TELEPHONE
	id = 1;
	actor = "Telephone";
	page
	{
	     name = "TELEPHONE";
		 dialog = "The line is dead. I can't use it.";
    }
}


conversation
{
    // Dormant Zombie
	id = 2;
	actor = "ZombieType1";
	page
	{
	     name = "Dormant Zombie";
		 dialog = "It's a zombie. Looks like it was stolen from Nightmare Creatures II.";
    }
}
As a test I did the exact thing again with a joke dialog for a dormant zombie and that works perfectly. Why doesn't the telephone one work?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Graf Zahl »

How does your telephone look? You only posted the dialogue but not the actor.
In order to help you, people will need a runnable example, with what you posted there is little chance to get any help at all because those who want to help have nothing to analyze.
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Hidden Hands »

Graf Zahl wrote:How does your telephone look? You only posted the dialogue but not the actor.
In order to help you, people will need a runnable example, with what you posted there is little chance to get any help at all because those who want to help have nothing to analyze.
AHH I apologise, I forgot to add that. Origianlly, it was like this:

Code: Select all

ACTOR Telephone : SmallBloodPool replaces SmallBloodPool
{
//$Category Decoration
//$Title Telephone
//$Sprite POL2A0
  }
And I figured out that it stopped it working. I'm not sure why exactly but I replaced it with this:

Code: Select all

ACTOR Telephone replaces SmallBloodPool
{
//$Category Decoration
//$Title Telephone
//$Sprite POB2A0
  Radius 20
  Height 14
  ProjectilePassHeight -16
  States
  {
  Spawn:
    POB2 A -1
    Stop
  }
}
And now it works. Strange.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Graf Zahl »

The problem is that the SmallBloodPool actor has the NOBLOCKMAP flag set, which prevents any kind of passive interaction, like being used.
You just picked one of the only two actors as a base where it could not work...
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Posts: 1053
Joined: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:11 pm
Location: London, England
Contact:

Re: DIALOGUE not working in game... ?

Post by Hidden Hands »

Graf Zahl wrote:The problem is that the SmallBloodPool actor has the NOBLOCKMAP flag set, which prevents any kind of passive interaction, like being used.
You just picked one of the only two actors as a base where it could not work...
Trust me to make a mistake like that. I'll remember that for future reference. Thank you.
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”