Check if flat is animated

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
User avatar
Jekyll Grim Payne
 
 
Posts: 1076
Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2008 4:08 am
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Contact:

Check if flat is animated

Post by Jekyll Grim Payne »

I'm making blood that I want to disappear when landing on animated texture. So far I haven't found a way. Initially I tried recording

Code: Select all

Tex.GetName(floorpic)
in a variable and then running a looped check for whether that has changed, but apparently animated textures are considered a single texture because the value was always the same.

Is there another way?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Check if flat is animated

Post by Graf Zahl »

No. This information is safely locked away inside the texture management.
User avatar
Rachael
Posts: 13571
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Contact:

Re: Check if flat is animated

Post by Rachael »

Exposing this information to the game sim, in my opinion, would require that the game sim itself be the animation manager for those textures.

I don't know the real reason for the decoupling, since special animations like warp can be done outside the game sim still, but it is something that drives me crazy. It was a move that was never needed, in my opinion, and it's not like you can animate textures faster than a game tic (as far as I know? maybe I am wrong...).
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49071
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Check if flat is animated

Post by Graf Zahl »

Animations never were part of the playsim to begin with. Not in original Doom nor in Hexen nor in any other port. The only thing they did was halt the timer when paused.
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”