How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Please bear in mind that the people helping you do not automatically know how much you know. You may be asked to upload your project file to look at. Don't be afraid to ask questions about what things mean, but also please be patient with the people trying to help you. (And helpers, please be patient with the person you're trying to help!)
Post Reply
User avatar
TheGameratorT
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:42 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Portugal
Contact:

How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Post by TheGameratorT »

So I was editing MENUDEF and when I tried to use multiple commands like this, as you would type in the console I get and error saying <map e1m2;> doesn't exist:

Code: Select all

	Command "Night 1", "map e1m2; changemap e1m2"
Also I can't use spaces in the say command on MENUDEF:

Code: Select all

	Command "New Game", "say New Game doesn't work for now! Choose a Night instead."
And If I use like the say command like this I still get an error:

Code: Select all

	Command "New Game", "say "New Game doesn't work for now! Choose a Night instead.""
Can someone please help I couldn't find anything related to this.

Sorry If this is the wrong post because the Editing one was Archieved.

Greetings,
TheGameratorT
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Post by _mental_ »

Create alias(es) in KEYCONF lump and use it MENUDEF.
User avatar
TheGameratorT
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:42 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Post by TheGameratorT »

Say still doesn't work

Code: Select all

alias config_reset_to_default "say "Exit the game, go into \Bin directory and delete gzdoom-%userprofile%.ini, then open again.""
It bugs and only says on the console:

say <name>
_mental_
 
 
Posts: 3812
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 4:32 am

Re: How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Post by _mental_ »

It should be

Code: Select all

alias config_reset_to_default "say \"Exit the game, go into Bin directory and delete gzdoom-%userprofile%.ini, then open again.\""
User avatar
TheGameratorT
Posts: 63
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:42 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: How to use multiple commands in menudef?

Post by TheGameratorT »

Thx :)
Post Reply

Return to “Scripting”