[SOLVED AGAIN] Another simple question about TEXTURE

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

[SOLVED AGAIN] Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby Endie » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:39 pm

So, i was trying to adjust the scope graphic to my sniper rifle, and used the TEXTURE lump to adjust offsets and stuff.

Here is the part where my question is:
Code: Select allExpand view
Sprite M98BA0, 480, 260
{
   Offset -160, -20
}


Right, and now there's the sprite itself

M98BA0.png


my problem is, my graphic just don't show up when i aim with the weapon, i don't know why, it's just like the graphic don't exist in the game.
and no, the problem isn't in the weapon code, i've checked just before posting here
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by Endie on Sat Mar 03, 2018 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Endie
I'm doing what i love. Doesn't mean i'm good at it though
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2017
Location: Somewhere in the void
Discord: 「Moa Dixøn」#4254
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby wildweasel » Thu Mar 01, 2018 10:43 pm

Your TEXTURES entry doesn't specify a patch. The way I'd do this is put your actual scope graphic in the /graphics folder, then add it as a patch in the TEXTURES entry thusly:
Code: Select allExpand view
Sprite M98BA0, 480, 260
{
   Patch SCOPEGFX, 0, 0
   Offset -160, -20
}
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby Endie » Fri Mar 02, 2018 7:48 am

Oh, i see. Thanks Wildweasel
User avatar
Endie
I'm doing what i love. Doesn't mean i'm good at it though
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2017
Location: Somewhere in the void
Discord: 「Moa Dixøn」#4254
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby Kotti » Mon Mar 05, 2018 5:18 am

wildweasel wrote:...in the /graphics folder...



Shouldn'Ät it go into the "/patches" folder? That one sounds like it's the correct one for patches other textures are built of.
Kotti
 
Joined: 27 Dec 2016

Re: Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby Endie » Mon Mar 05, 2018 8:26 am

idk why this post is here, maybe a glitch or whatever, ignore this
Last edited by Endie on Mon Mar 05, 2018 2:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Endie
I'm doing what i love. Doesn't mean i'm good at it though
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2017
Location: Somewhere in the void
Discord: 「Moa Dixøn」#4254
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [SOLVED AGAIN] Another simple question about TEXTURE

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Mar 05, 2018 11:00 am

To answer the question, yes, it should go into 'patches'.
The various subdirectories have special meaning when texture priority is important. And yes, some people have experienced problems when they did not do it right. A patch in 'patches' is guaranteed to have lower priority than the other texture types so it won't get in the way, e.g. when a patch has the same name as the texture that uses it. In the other directories all bets are off and you can end up with the wrong texture being picked, based on context.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dark-Assassin and 1 guest