Weapon freezes game. Help!

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Weapon freezes game. Help!

Postby Gunsym » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:22 pm

So I've been working on a weapon and every time I test it out it freezes the game. It's every time that I try to equip it. If anyone knows anything about that let me know!

Thanks!
Gunsym
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2017

Re: Weapon freezes game. Help!

Postby wildweasel » Thu Oct 19, 2017 12:24 pm

Without being able to see your code, the one thing I can think of is your state durations. Does the Ready state have at least one tic of length?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Weapon freezes game. Help!

Postby Endie » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:08 pm

Maybe your rise/ready states are with 0 tics, this happened with me before
(example: TNT1 A 0 A_WeaponReady/A_Raise)
Try changing the rotations to 1 if so
(TNT1 A 1 A_WeaponReady/A_Raise)
User avatar
Endie
I'm doing what i love. Doesn't mean i'm good at it though
 
Joined: 16 Mar 2017
Location: Somewhere in the void
Discord: 「Moa Dixøn」#4254
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: Not Listed

Re: Weapon freezes game. Help!

Postby Matt » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:26 pm

A select state with a zero-length A_Raise loop should just instantly go to Ready, shouldn't it?

(but yeah, there's no way to solve a problem like this without seeing the actual code causing it - however obvious it is once seen, while unseen it could be anywhere)
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest