Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Aerosplinter » Mon Oct 09, 2017 1:37 am

First off, whenever I use the "Give All" command, all of my custom weapons are usable. However, I do not start with the weapons I start with as custom.
Here is my little sneak peak of my weapons sound mod:
MAN'S NOT HOT MOD

DOWNLOAD
You should use a wad editor like SLADE3(The one I used), to check some of the text files.

For the most part, I am trying to figure out how to use my custom weapons at the start, but I only spawn with the Fist as the only weapon to start with. I have spawned with custom weapons before, but I kind of forgot how to spawn with custom weapons due to school. The weapons I currently edited are the pistol and the shotgun. I have some questions :

Did I copy too much of the DECORATE weapons?
Am I using Inheritance incorrectly?
Did I define the actors incorrectly? If so, how do I define them correctly?
Did I make an error in the actors' names for my player class?
Is my player class not added?
Did I add the weapons to the slots incorrectly?
Is there anything that I am missing?

For the most part, how can I spawn with the custom weapons I created other than the fist?


NOTE: I also tried looking up some topics on this forum, but they cannot relate to my problem with the DECORATE weapons I am having trouble with. Usually they want to spawn only with fists, but I want to spawn with my weapons aside from the fist. I also don't want to fill this topic with an ocean of text, but scanning through can be short. So it's only three short text files within this pk3 file.
Last edited by Aerosplinter on Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Aerosplinter
Creator of the Smash (Randomizer) Bros. Doom Mod
 
Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Rachael » Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:34 am

Moving this to Editing since this is not a system issue.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Aerosplinter » Mon Oct 09, 2017 3:22 am

Rachael wrote:Moving this to Editing since this is not a system issue.


Thank you :wink: , but I still need help... :cry:
User avatar
Aerosplinter
Creator of the Smash (Randomizer) Bros. Doom Mod
 
Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Matt » Tue Oct 10, 2017 5:38 pm

Try adding this to your player definition:
Code: Select allExpand view
player.displayname "MANSNOTHOT"
That's the only thing I can think of that's missing from your code. (I didn't bother looking at the Decorate since you said the guns work fine if you use the give cheat)
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Aerosplinter » Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:36 pm

Matt wrote:Try adding this to your player definition:
Code: Select allExpand view
player.displayname "MANSNOTHOT"
That's the only thing I can think of that's missing from your code. (I didn't bother looking at the Decorate since you said the guns work fine if you use the give cheat)


But did you spawn with the start items? I only spawn with the fists. Why don't you try testing to see if you can spawn with the items?
User avatar
Aerosplinter
Creator of the Smash (Randomizer) Bros. Doom Mod
 
Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Zhs2 » Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:20 am

The playerclass works fine. The issue here is that for some reason the actors "HandgunHot" and "ShotHot" do not actually exist, despite being defined in the DECORATE file. Trying to spawn them results in "Unknown actor". Whatever's going on here is pretty baffling, to say the least.
User avatar
Zhs2
Power of meh.
 
Joined: 07 Nov 2008
Location: Maryland, USA, but probably also in someone's mod somewhere
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Matt » Thu Oct 12, 2017 11:29 pm

I retyped "ACTOR HandgunHot : " and the handgun works.

It seems to be the space just before the colon. Possibly that non-breaking space was used?
EDIT: Yes it was a non-breaking space. Copypasted the whitespace in quote marks into Google and checked the code on the resulting URL.

This seems like a rather unfortunately inconsistent way of handling nonbreaking spaces. I've posted a bug report though arguably adding some feedback or compatibility is more of a feature suggestion.
User avatar
Matt
Putting the XD into *xdeath since 2007
 
Joined: 04 Jan 2004
Location: Gotham City SAR, Wyld-Lands of the Lotus People, Dominionist PetroConfederacy of Saudi Canadia

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Rachael » Fri Oct 13, 2017 12:53 am

This was brought up before as to why ds201's model pack doesn't work, it's the same thing, and it's not something that's likely to change.

You're just going to have to stick with a text editor that does not sneak those in there. :?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Graf Zahl » Fri Oct 13, 2017 1:09 am

What kind of editor did you use? I've never come across one doing this thing.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Start Items Not Appearing At Start

Postby Aerosplinter » Sat Oct 14, 2017 12:17 am

I used Slade3.
User avatar
Aerosplinter
Creator of the Smash (Randomizer) Bros. Doom Mod
 
Joined: 01 Feb 2017
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests