How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Ask about ACS, DECORATE, ZScript, or any other scripting questions here!

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Hidden Hands » Tue Oct 03, 2017 10:27 pm

If I have replaced for example the Baron of Hell with a new monster that does NOT have a melee attack, how can I make it so it doesn't do one? Because currently it reverts to the BARON OF HELL sprites to do a melee attack which one it shouldnt have and second when it does do it, it changes into the previous monster.

How can I fix it please?

Thanks in advance.
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Deadite
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Location: London, England

Re: How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Blue Shadow » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:04 pm

Add this to your monster:

Code: Select allExpand view
Melee:
    Stop
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Hidden Hands » Tue Oct 03, 2017 11:31 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Add this to your monster:

Code: Select allExpand view
Melee:
    Stop


Thank you!
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Deadite
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Location: London, England

Re: How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Ichor » Wed Oct 04, 2017 8:36 am

Or you could do this:
Code: Select allExpand view
Melee:
    Goto Missile

This way, it will use the missile attack even when it's in melee range.
User avatar
Ichor
The fun cannot be halted
 
Joined: 23 Jul 2003

Re: How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Hidden Hands » Wed Oct 04, 2017 9:59 am

Thank you also! Great help everyone, thanks.
User avatar
Hidden Hands
Deadite
 
Joined: 20 Sep 2016
Location: London, England

Re: How to remove MELEE from a monsters attack?

Postby Hexereticdoom » Tue Oct 24, 2017 1:05 pm

This way has also the same effect:

Code: Select allExpand view
Melee:
Missile:
...

Decorate code is pretty flexible, as you can see... =:)
User avatar
Hexereticdoom
Don't make me angry or I'll bite you! Heheheee...
 
Joined: 08 Aug 2013
Location: Spain
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests