Page 6 of 9

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 10:30 am
by Major Cooke
Looking at SetSize, what is the very first parameter (height) doing? In doom it's set to 32, hexen 38...

Also what's the best way to replicate the 'forcedscale' keyword?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 11:05 am
by Graf Zahl
The first parameter is the actual height of the status bar, i.e. how much of the view it obstructs.

For forcedscale look at the definitions of
Code: Select allExpand view
   void BeginStatusBar(int resW, int resH, int relTop, bool forceScaled);
   void BeginHUD(int resW, int resH, double Alpha, bool forceScaled = false);

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:35 pm
by Major Cooke
Okay I gave it a shot.

Here's the code to the SBARINFO for comparison's sake:

Code: Select allExpand view
height 0;
CompleteBorder True;

Resolution 1024,768;
InterpolateHealth false, 20;
InterpolateArmor false, 20;

//================================================================================================
//================================================================================================
//   This version HAS the weapon bar and ammo counter
//================================================================================================
//================================================================================================
statusbar Normal, forcescaled
{   
   
   // Powerups
   // Go first because otherwise they obscure HUD elements
   inInventory PowerD4QuadDamage          { drawimage "Shade2Ma", -171, 0; }
   inInventory PowerD4Regen             { drawimage "Shade2Cy", -171, 0; }
   inInventory PowerD4Haste            { drawimage "Shade2Ye", -171, 0; }
   inInventory PowerD4Money             { drawimage "Shade2Gr", -171, 0; }
      
   // UAC Doomguy collectible uses
   InInventory DollUses,1
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 1060,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,2
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 1030,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,3
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 1000,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,4
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 970,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,5
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 940,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,6
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 910,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,7
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 880,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,8
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 850,727; }
   InInventory DollUses,9
   { drawimage "Ddoll", 820,727; }

      // The Usual
      drawimage "BODYBAR0", -69,669;
// ...
}


And here's my current translation to zscript.
Code: Select allExpand view

Class Doom4StatusBar 
: BaseStatusBar
{
    DynamicValueInterpolator mHealthInterpolator;
    DynamicValueInterpolator mHealthInterpolator2;
    HUDFont mHUDFont;
    HUDFont mIndexFont;
    HUDFont mBigFont;
    InventoryBarState diparms;
    InventoryBarState diparms_sbar;

    override void Init()
    {
        Super.Init();

        SetSize(0, 1024, 768);
        CompleteBorder = true;

        // Create the font used for the fullscreen HUD
        Font fnt = "HUDFONT_DOOM";
        mHUDFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0") + 1, true, 1, 1);
        fnt = "INDEXFONT_DOOM";
        mIndexFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0"), true);
        fnt = "BIGFONT";
        mBigFont = HUDFont.Create(fnt, fnt.GetCharWidth("0"), true, 2, 2);
        diparms = InventoryBarState.Create(mIndexFont);
        //diparms_sbar = InventoryBarState.CreateNoBox(mIndexFont, boxsize:(31, 31), arrowoffs:(0,-10));
        mHealthInterpolator = DynamicValueInterpolator.Create(0, 0.25, 1, 8);
        mHealthInterpolator2 = DynamicValueInterpolator.Create(0, 0.25, 1, 6);    // the chain uses a maximum of 6, not 8.
    }
    
    override void NewGame 
()
    {
        Super.NewGame();
        mHealthInterpolator.Reset (0);
        mHealthInterpolator2.Reset (0);
    }
    
    override void Tick
()
    {
        Super.Tick();
        mHealthInterpolator.Update(CPlayer.health);
    }

    override void Draw (int state, double TicFrac)
    {
        Super.Draw (state, TicFrac);

        if (state == HUD_StatusBar)
        {
            BeginStatusBar(true);
            DrawMainBar (TicFrac);
        }
        else if (state == HUD_Fullscreen)
        {
            BeginHUD(1.0, true);
            DrawFullScreenStuff();
        }
    }
    
    protected void DrawMainBar 
(double TicFrac)
    {
        
    
}
    
    protected void DrawFullScreenStuff 
()
    {
        int imageAlignment = 0;
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4QuadDamage"))    DrawImage("Shade2Ma", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Regen"))        DrawImage("Shade2Cy", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Haste"))        DrawImage("Shade2Ye", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        if (GetAmountOnly("PowerD4Money"))        DrawImage("Shade2Gr", (-171, 0), imageAlignment);
        
        
/* For comparison's sake.
        inInventory PowerD4QuadDamage             { drawimage "Shade2Ma", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Regen                 { drawimage "Shade2Cy", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Haste                { drawimage "Shade2Ye", -171, 0; }
        inInventory PowerD4Money                 { drawimage "Shade2Gr", -171, 0; }
        */
        
        int DoomDollMax
, DoomDollCount;
        [DoomDollCount, DoomDollMax] = GetAmount("DollUses");
        DoomDollCount = Min(DoomDollCount, DoomDollMax);
        if (DoomDollCount > 0)
        {
            for (int i = 0; i < DoomDollCount; i++)
            {
                int DollX = 1060 - (30 * i);
                DrawImage("Ddoll", (DollX, 727), imageAlignment);
            }
        }
        
        DrawImage 
("BODYBAR0", (-69, 669), imageAlignment);
        
        
/* UAC Doomguy collectible uses
        InInventory DollUses,1
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1060,727; }
        InInventory DollUses,2 
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1030,727; }
        InInventory DollUses,3
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 1000,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,4
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 970,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,5
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 940,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,6
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 910,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,7
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 880,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,8
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 850,727; } 
        InInventory DollUses,9
        { drawimage "Ddoll", 820,727; } 
        */
    }
    
}

extend class Doom4StatusBar
{
    int GetAmountOnly(class<Inventory> item)
    {
        let it = CPlayer.mo.FindInventory(item);
        return (it ? it.Amount : 0);
    }


Am I forgetting to do something that's causing this alignment to go out of whack? Or do we basically need to reposition it to the new system?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:42 pm
by Graf Zahl
What happens?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Mon Apr 10, 2017 12:45 pm
by Major Cooke
I just realized I put the hud stuff into the fullscreen stuff by mistake, whoops. That'll do it.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 1:42 pm
by Major Cooke
So one thing I don't quite get is the coordinate system between status bar and full screen.

Code: Select allExpand view
if (state == HUD_StatusBar)
{
   BeginStatusBar(true);
   DrawMainBar (TicFrac);
}
else if (state == HUD_Fullscreen)
{
   BeginHUD(1.0, true);
   DrawFullScreenStuff();
}


It's so much different than the other...
Por que?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Thu Apr 20, 2017 3:54 pm
by Graf Zahl
The status bar is supposed to draw into a 320x200 screen with the status bar at the bottom.

The fullscreen HUD is supposed to align stuff to the screen's edges. This is copied verbatim from SBARINFO.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 6:56 am
by Major Cooke
Graf Zahl wrote:removed alpha parameter from BaseStatusBar.DrawBar because this cannot be used with this function.


Why is that?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:25 am
by Graf Zahl
The bar drawer is rather hacky to allow working with Hexen's badly designed graphics. For translucency a baggage-free version needs to be done that doesn't try to put a black fill overlay over the graphic.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Fri Apr 21, 2017 7:26 am
by Major Cooke
I take it that's planned? It would be highly appreciated.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 12:15 pm
by Gutawer
Code: Select allExpand view
SetClipRect(0, 1080 - 128, 64, 64);
DrawImage("STARTAN2", (0, 1080), DI_ITEM_LEFT_BOTTOM);

Why isn't this clipping the texture vertically? It halves the texture horizontally as expected, but doesn't half it vertically, leaving a 64*128 texture on the screen when it should be 64*64. I tried messing around with the SetClipRect flags, but I couldn't get anything to work, would appreciate some help here.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:21 pm
by Nash
A bug maybe?

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Sat Apr 22, 2017 9:26 pm
by AFADoomer
Major Cooke wrote:I take it that's planned? It would be highly appreciated.


This works... Also allows bars to be scaled...
I think some of the border stuff might still be unnecessary now, but it doesn't stop anything I've done from working - I haven't really tested with a border, though - it "works", but I don't know what the expected behavior is supposed to me.

Code: Select allExpand view
    //Custom version of DrawBar that allows drawing with alpha - mostly copy/paste from original function, modified to allow alpha and scaling
    void DrawBarEx(String ongfx, String offgfx, double curval, double maxval, Vector2 position, int border, int vertical, int flags = 0, double alpha = 1., double scale = 1.)
    {
        let ontex = TexMan.CheckForTexture(ongfx, TexMan.TYPE_MiscPatch);
        if (!ontex.IsValid()) return;
        let offtex = TexMan.CheckForTexture(offgfx, TexMan.TYPE_MiscPatch);

        Vector2 texsize = TexMan.GetScaledSize(ontex);
        texsize.*= scale;
        texsize.*= scale;
        [position, flags] = AdjustPosition(position, flags, texsize.X, texsize.Y);
        
        double value 
= (maxval != 0) ? clamp(curval / maxval, 0, 1) : 0;
        if(border != 0) value = 1. - value; //invert since the new drawing method requires drawing the bg on the fg.
        
        
// {cx, cb, cr, cy}
        double Clip[4];
        Clip[0] = Clip[1] = Clip[2] = Clip[3] = 0;
        
        bool horizontal 
= !(vertical & SHADER_VERT);
        bool reverse = !!(vertical & SHADER_REVERSE);
        double sizeOfImage = (horizontal ? texsize.- border*: texsize.- border*2);
        Clip[(!horizontal) | ((!reverse)<<1)] = sizeOfImage - sizeOfImage * value;
        
        
// preserve the active clipping rectangle
        int cx, cy, cw, ch;
        [cx, cy, cw, ch] = screen.GetClipRect();

        if(border != 0)
        {
            for(int i = 0; i < 4; i++) Clip[i] += border;

            //Draw the whole foreground
            DrawTexture(ontex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale));
            SetClipRect(position.+ Clip[0], position.+ Clip[1], texsize.- Clip[0] - Clip[2], texsize.- Clip[1] - Clip[3], flags);
        }
        
        if 
(offtex.IsValid()) { DrawTexture(offtex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale)); }
        
        if 
(border == 0) 
        
{
            SetClipRect(position.+ Clip[0], position.+ Clip[1], texsize.- Clip[0] - Clip[2], texsize.- Clip[1] - Clip[3], flags);
            DrawTexture(ontex, position, flags | DI_ITEM_LEFT_TOP, alpha, scale: (scale, scale));
        }
        // restore the previous clipping rectangle
        screen.SetClipRect(cx, cy, cw, ch);
    }

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 4:58 am
by Gutawer
Nash wrote:A bug maybe?

Probably, I guess. Since I haven't got any other responses here I suppose I'll go report it.

Re: ZScript: Status Bar Questions

PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2017 5:23 am
by Graf Zahl
Nash wrote:A bug maybe?



Hard to say from a small fragment of code that doesn't say anything about the context. Just this: This code doesn't look correct at all, so I need to see more.