Page 10 of 13

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:13 am
by PlayerLin
https://forums.duke4.net/index.php?show ... t&p=343511

You can have a copy of original DN3D:AE and official expansions and just for 4.99USD, and it seems legal.

Megaton Edition was good but too buggy if you ask me...I did got that just for those expansions...

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:15 am
by mjr4077au
PlayerLin wrote:https://forums.duke4.net/index.php?showtopic=11218&view=findpost&p=343511

You can have a copy of original DN3D:AE and official expansions back that time and just for 4.99USD, and it seems legal.

That without a single doubt looks like the best legal way to get the games :).

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:36 am
by Rachael
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:speaking of Q2 being mentioned a while back in this topic, what's a good source port to run the game nowadays? i remember there being several to choose from, but i don't know which one is the best to use.


About Q2: KMQuake2 is a pretty good source port, at least as far as graphics and visuals.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:53 am
by Graf Zahl
I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:25 am
by sinisterseed
Viscra Maelstrom wrote:speaking of Q2 being mentioned a while back in this topic, what's a good source port to run the game nowadays? i remember there being several to choose from, but i don't know which one is the best to use.

vkQuake 2 is what I am using, it's essentially what vkQuake is for Quake 1, which is a Vulkan fork of Quakespasm.

https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:53 am
by mjr4077au
Graf Zahl wrote:I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.

I find that interesting since Yamagi is German as well... Typical SDL2 issue or just a bad implementation?

I prefer it because does have a multitude of bug fixes over the original game code.

lowskill. wrote:vkQuake 2 is what I am using, it's essentially what vkQuake is for Quake 1, which is a Vulkan fork of Quakespasm.

https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2

Also very nice and has a real pure feel to it. Would work well for Graf since vkQuake2 doesn't use SDL and makes a point of using Quake II's original interface code.

Rachael wrote:About Q2: KMQuake2 is a pretty good source port, at least as far as graphics and visuals.

I thought this port was dead to be honest but just saw the home page has been updated for the first time in years, will have to check it out :D.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:11 pm
by Kinsie
Graf Zahl wrote:I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.
I had issues with Yamagi grappling with my mouse in windowed mode, but those seem to have been cleared up at some vague point. I'll have to give vkQuake2 a poke at some point.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:17 pm
by mjr4077au
Kinsie wrote:I had issues with Yamagi grappling with my mouse in windowed mode, but those seem to have been cleared up at some vague point. I'll have to give vkQuake2 a poke at some point.

It's very nice to use :). This will sound strange but I thought the mouse for vkQuake2 felt better under Linux than it did for Windows, as if the mouse's resolution was higher. Yamagi's mouse under Windows felt great though.

My hypothesis is that vkQuake2 is using DirectInput for the mouse and not Raw Input like Yamagi or a lot of newer titles are.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:55 am
by dpJudas
The resolution for DirectInput and Raw Input should be the same (*). As far as I know, DirectInput is a wrapper on top of Raw Input that calls RegisterRawInputDevices with a very specific set of flags and a worker thread to process the raw input events.

*) The latest version of DirectInput. Earlier versions, such as the one used by UT99, they did things differently.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:25 am
by mjr4077au
dpJudas wrote:The resolution for DirectInput and Raw Input should be the same (*). As far as I know, DirectInput is a wrapper on top of Raw Input that calls RegisterRawInputDevices with a very specific set of flags and a worker thread to process the raw input events.

*) The latest version of DirectInput. Earlier versions, such as the one used by UT99, they did things differently.

I can only assume that vkQuake2 is doing something similar to whatever UT99 might have done, I haven't looked into it though. I'll have to test vkQuake2 out again on Windows when I get home from my work trip as I have a 144Hz monitor and high-DPI mouse so it might be a non-event, but Yamagi definitely felt better under my old setup.

EDIT: Looks like it's not even that, some kind of legacy GDI mouse input judging by functions like GetCursorPos(), etc. https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2/blo ... 2/in_win.c

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:37 am
by dpJudas
Ah yes that is the oldest method around - it is also subject to mouse acceleration.

One thing I've never been able to understand in Windows - and since this site is full of gamers maybe someone knows - is how higher DPI settings on the mouse is even supposed to work? On my Razer mouse I always keep it at 800 DPI, because if I turn it up then two things happens: 1) mouse acceleration artifacts seem to appear in the raw input data (thx MS for making raw not raw), and 2) I can't seem to find a way to reliable restore the old behavior of the mouse with just more precision even if I lower the mouse speed in the settings panel.

The stupid thing about raw input is that it doesn't even just give me the mouse at full resolution and a scale factor. It reports the movement in integer desktop pixels *facepalm*.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:59 am
by mjr4077au
If 800 DPI is the 2nd lowest setting on it, then that's what I have mine set to as well. When I bought it, I had in my mind that more DPI meant slower mouse (i.e. more precision per inch, because more dots). I mostly bought it for the 1000Hz polling rate.

That is pretty silly how the mouse units get reported... You'd imagine it be some kind of float for more precision, etc.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:14 am
by dpJudas
800 DPI is the lowest setting. Yours is 1800 DPI. I'm not even sure it would improve my aim in games if I increased it, but it just frustrates me that the OS itself can't handle all this transparently so the mouse cursor speed on the desktop stays constant no matter what DPI I'm using. And given it looks like some kind of acceleration appears when I turn it up I fear my aim could actually get worse if I used it at a high setting. :)

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:17 am
by mjr4077au
I'll have to check when I get home but I'm pretty sure my mouse sensitivity on the desktop changes as the DPI changes. I remember putting it on the 2nd lowest setting because that's what felt good on the desktop. This is with a Razer Basilisk V2.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:25 am
by dpJudas
Yes it does. That's sort of my point - it shouldn't. The mouse should just move more smooth inside games. Anyway think I derailed this thread enough for now. :P