What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby PlayerLin » Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:13 am

https://forums.duke4.net/index.php?show ... t&p=343511

You can have a copy of original DN3D:AE and official expansions and just for 4.99USD, and it seems legal.

Megaton Edition was good but too buggy if you ask me...I did got that just for those expansions...
Last edited by PlayerLin on Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:16 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
PlayerLin
 
Joined: 11 Nov 2007
Location: XinZhuang, XinBei/New Taipei City(Former Taipei County), Taiwan.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:15 am

PlayerLin wrote:https://forums.duke4.net/index.php?showtopic=11218&view=findpost&p=343511

You can have a copy of original DN3D:AE and official expansions back that time and just for 4.99USD, and it seems legal.

That without a single doubt looks like the best legal way to get the games :).
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby Rachael » Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:36 am

Viscra Maelstrom wrote:speaking of Q2 being mentioned a while back in this topic, what's a good source port to run the game nowadays? i remember there being several to choose from, but i don't know which one is the best to use.


About Q2: KMQuake2 is a pretty good source port, at least as far as graphics and visuals.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Jun 17, 2020 7:53 am

I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby sinisterseed » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:25 am

Viscra Maelstrom wrote:speaking of Q2 being mentioned a while back in this topic, what's a good source port to run the game nowadays? i remember there being several to choose from, but i don't know which one is the best to use.

vkQuake 2 is what I am using, it's essentially what vkQuake is for Quake 1, which is a Vulkan fork of Quakespasm.

https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2
User avatar
sinisterseed
GZDoom RO Translator & Raze Tester
 
Joined: 05 Nov 2019
Twitch ID: sixhundredsixteen
Github ID: sinisterseed
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Wed Jun 17, 2020 10:53 am

Graf Zahl wrote:I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.

I find that interesting since Yamagi is German as well... Typical SDL2 issue or just a bad implementation?

I prefer it because does have a multitude of bug fixes over the original game code.

lowskill. wrote:vkQuake 2 is what I am using, it's essentially what vkQuake is for Quake 1, which is a Vulkan fork of Quakespasm.

https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2

Also very nice and has a real pure feel to it. Would work well for Graf since vkQuake2 doesn't use SDL and makes a point of using Quake II's original interface code.

Rachael wrote:About Q2: KMQuake2 is a pretty good source port, at least as far as graphics and visuals.

I thought this port was dead to be honest but just saw the home page has been updated for the first time in years, will have to check it out :D.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby Kinsie » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:11 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:I use the unofficial 3.24 patch. I once tried Yamagi but had some issues with it not properly recognizing my European keyboard.
I had issues with Yamagi grappling with my mouse in windowed mode, but those seem to have been cleared up at some vague point. I'll have to give vkQuake2 a poke at some point.
User avatar
Kinsie
Dog Days
 
Joined: 22 Oct 2004
Location: MAP33
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Wed Jun 17, 2020 8:17 pm

Kinsie wrote:I had issues with Yamagi grappling with my mouse in windowed mode, but those seem to have been cleared up at some vague point. I'll have to give vkQuake2 a poke at some point.

It's very nice to use :). This will sound strange but I thought the mouse for vkQuake2 felt better under Linux than it did for Windows, as if the mouse's resolution was higher. Yamagi's mouse under Windows felt great though.

My hypothesis is that vkQuake2 is using DirectInput for the mouse and not Raw Input like Yamagi or a lot of newer titles are.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby dpJudas » Thu Jun 18, 2020 3:55 am

The resolution for DirectInput and Raw Input should be the same (*). As far as I know, DirectInput is a wrapper on top of Raw Input that calls RegisterRawInputDevices with a very specific set of flags and a worker thread to process the raw input events.

*) The latest version of DirectInput. Earlier versions, such as the one used by UT99, they did things differently.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:25 am

dpJudas wrote:The resolution for DirectInput and Raw Input should be the same (*). As far as I know, DirectInput is a wrapper on top of Raw Input that calls RegisterRawInputDevices with a very specific set of flags and a worker thread to process the raw input events.

*) The latest version of DirectInput. Earlier versions, such as the one used by UT99, they did things differently.

I can only assume that vkQuake2 is doing something similar to whatever UT99 might have done, I haven't looked into it though. I'll have to test vkQuake2 out again on Windows when I get home from my work trip as I have a 144Hz monitor and high-DPI mouse so it might be a non-event, but Yamagi definitely felt better under my old setup.

EDIT: Looks like it's not even that, some kind of legacy GDI mouse input judging by functions like GetCursorPos(), etc. https://github.com/kondrak/vkQuake2/blo ... 2/in_win.c
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby dpJudas » Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:37 am

Ah yes that is the oldest method around - it is also subject to mouse acceleration.

One thing I've never been able to understand in Windows - and since this site is full of gamers maybe someone knows - is how higher DPI settings on the mouse is even supposed to work? On my Razer mouse I always keep it at 800 DPI, because if I turn it up then two things happens: 1) mouse acceleration artifacts seem to appear in the raw input data (thx MS for making raw not raw), and 2) I can't seem to find a way to reliable restore the old behavior of the mouse with just more precision even if I lower the mouse speed in the settings panel.

The stupid thing about raw input is that it doesn't even just give me the mouse at full resolution and a scale factor. It reports the movement in integer desktop pixels *facepalm*.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Thu Jun 18, 2020 4:59 am

If 800 DPI is the 2nd lowest setting on it, then that's what I have mine set to as well. When I bought it, I had in my mind that more DPI meant slower mouse (i.e. more precision per inch, because more dots). I mostly bought it for the 1000Hz polling rate.

That is pretty silly how the mouse units get reported... You'd imagine it be some kind of float for more precision, etc.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby dpJudas » Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:14 am

800 DPI is the lowest setting. Yours is 1800 DPI. I'm not even sure it would improve my aim in games if I increased it, but it just frustrates me that the OS itself can't handle all this transparently so the mouse cursor speed on the desktop stays constant no matter what DPI I'm using. And given it looks like some kind of acceleration appears when I turn it up I fear my aim could actually get worse if I used it at a high setting. :)
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby mjr4077au » Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:17 am

I'll have to check when I get home but I'm pretty sure my mouse sensitivity on the desktop changes as the DPI changes. I remember putting it on the 2nd lowest setting because that's what felt good on the desktop. This is with a Razer Basilisk V2.
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: What's a game you don't play for a stupid reason?

Postby dpJudas » Thu Jun 18, 2020 5:25 am

Yes it does. That's sort of my point - it shouldn't. The mouse should just move more smooth inside games. Anyway think I derailed this thread enough for now. :P
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

PreviousNext

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dodopod, Kinsie and 0 guests