Learn language using internet

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Learn language using internet

Postby Apeirogon » Mon Feb 03, 2020 3:58 pm

Since my english skill is on the level "understand everything, but cant say a word" I decide to learn one more language, but this time more morphologically and syntactically similar to my native language.
Spoiler:

So I choose french.
I studied english in school but all I remember from it is: when I should use "an" and where "a" before word, "the" article, irregular verbs "be-was were-been"....and that all. There are was definitely more than that. So for english I already have some base like "London is a capital of great brittan." from the school.

But is it possible to learn it using ONLY youtube videos and similar sources of information, without knowing anything else? Did my english will help me with this or not?
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour

Re: Learn language using internet

Postby Enjay » Mon Feb 03, 2020 4:17 pm

English doesn't help too much with French.

English is primarily a Germanic language (grammar mostly inherited from proto-Germanic) but with quite a lot of vocabulary imported from Latinate/Romantic sources. That being said, learning modern German probably isn't helped much by knowing English either. English is awkward. :P

French is much more closely associated with its Latinate/Romantic roots and is a true "Romance" language. Knowing any of French, Spanish and Italian is likely to help with any of the others.

Source: I have spoken about this to the language teachers at my school and (conveniently) one is English, one is German, one is French and one is Spanish.
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain

Postby SouthernLion » Mon Feb 03, 2020 5:26 pm

German definitely reminds me of "old English" (Shakespeare and King James Holy Bible translation type English).

"Do we have any cats?" = "Have we cats?"
(Haben wir Katzen?)