[Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

[Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby MaxED » Mon Aug 01, 2016 4:37 am

About:
Mission64 is a Quake 2 for Nintendo 64 recreation attempt for KMQuake 2 engine. The goal is to bring all 19 single-player levels from the game to PC.

Current progress:
The first three maps are complete and playable.

Screenshots:
Spoiler:

Usage:
Extract "mission64" folder from the archive into your Quake 2 folder, then use "mission64/Launch.bat" to play.

Known issues:
For some users the mod crashes during startup, unless KMQuake 2 is launched with administrator privileges.

Sources:
Game data.
Game dll.

Download:
Public test 3
Last edited by MaxED on Wed Aug 24, 2016 5:37 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby Tormentor667 » Mon Aug 01, 2016 5:30 am

First I thought it's a GZDoom project :)

Looks very good so far MaxEd. Btw, what happened to ReExhumed?
User avatar
Tormentor667
needs more detail
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby Mav3rick » Mon Aug 01, 2016 7:47 am

can be use it with another port that is no KM?
User avatar
Mav3rick
Need some light??
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2013
Location: Hell

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby MaxED » Mon Aug 01, 2016 8:07 am

No. It uses some Lazarus/KMQuake 2 features.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby scalliano » Mon Aug 01, 2016 6:21 pm

NO FUCKING WAY! :wub:

At long last Q264 finally gets a PC conversion. I have waited for something like this for over a decade. You, sir, are a hero.
User avatar
scalliano
Resident ZDoom Waifu
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby JimpArgon » Mon Aug 01, 2016 9:18 pm

I agree.... This is awesome.

Thank you for sharing.

*edit* finished the first level.... Oh the nostalgia. It hit hard. I do hope you do all the other maps from the N64 version.

Also, I love the title demo that plays when you launch the game.

Image
User avatar
JimpArgon
:) (:
Banned User
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2016
Location: Florida

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby Ghastly » Tue Aug 02, 2016 9:16 am

Very nice! I've always been really bad at playing shooters on controllers, so definitely loving the opportunity to play a set of Quake 2 maps that's been effectively locked off from me. :P
User avatar
Ghastly
Rather ghastly
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby cambertian » Tue Aug 02, 2016 11:36 am

Had my N64 controller's joystick modded specifically for this version of the game at one point. Still couldn't play it because I suck at FPS games with anything other than a mouse and keyboard...

I'm glad someone finally buckled down, of course. Well done! Can't wait until it's done.
User avatar
cambertian
Resident Non-Programming Programmer
 
Joined: 07 May 2015
Location: New England Area, USA
Discord: cambertian#6245

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby scalliano » Tue Aug 02, 2016 12:55 pm

Probably still a bit early, but have a Steam grid:
Image
Okay, I like making Steam grids.
User avatar
scalliano
Resident ZDoom Waifu
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby JimpArgon » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:00 pm

^ That looks nice man. :thumb:
User avatar
JimpArgon
:) (:
Banned User
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2016
Location: Florida

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby scalliano » Tue Aug 02, 2016 1:15 pm

Cheers, it's just the N64/PS1 box art with a few tweaks.

EDIT: Better one (maybe):
Image
User avatar
scalliano
Resident ZDoom Waifu
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby YukiHerz » Tue Aug 02, 2016 2:45 pm

This is pretty nice, not familiar with the n64 version myself because fuck that controller, but for the first map it's pretty much the same as ps1, although i don't think the ps1 had such a hit in texture size.
User avatar
YukiHerz
Expensive pasta dude
 
Joined: 02 Dec 2013
Location: Where corruption is redefined daily.
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby scalliano » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:17 pm

The first map is where the similarities end. The rest of the game is completely standalone bar one area borrowed from PC Q2 and two from Reckoning. And I do mean areas, not whole levels.
User avatar
scalliano
Resident ZDoom Waifu
 
Joined: 21 Jun 2005
Location: Ireland

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby Rachael » Tue Aug 02, 2016 3:53 pm

Amazing, MaxED! I can't wait to see the rest of it! :)
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Quake 2] Mission 64 (Q2 n64 -> PC recreation attempt)

Postby MaxED » Tue Aug 16, 2016 6:35 am

Mission 2 is done. Download link is in the first post. Here are some screenshots:
Spoiler:

Also this is a proper mod now. Stuff I've changed:
1. Added Invisibility powerup.
2. Powerups are now used on pickup (like in n64 version).
3. Weapon switching animation now plays 2x faster.
4. Weapons now have select sounds.
5. Added footstep sounds to the most of currently used enemies.
6. Changed HUD to look somewhat more like n64 HUD.

Also both game and dll sources are now on GitHub (I've heard that putting a project on the GitHub immediately attracts flocks of experienced programmers and artists). So... um... if you want to help the project by the means of mapping or coding, you now have the place to flock to. So you can... you know... flock there and do githubby stuffs and things... for science! :shock:

Seriously though, if you know how to map for IDTech2 or are at least slightly familiar with Q2/KMQ2 source, it would be nice if you can contribute in some way.
If you are interested in mapping, I can document the process I use to recreate the maps.
If you are interested in coding, I have no particular requests ATM, but do have some questions regarding KMQ2/Lazarus source.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Next

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Semrush [Bot] and 3 guests