8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sat Dec 12, 2015 9:08 am

When I installed these 4 2GB RAM sticks, my computer started shutting down consistently soon after booting up, I was forced to put back in the old RAM temporarily. Here are my computer specs:

RAM: 4GB (2 1GB sticks and a 2GB stick, the old RAM)
GPU: AMD HD 5670 512MB
CPU: 3.16 GHz Intel Core2 Duo
PSU: 365 W active PFC
OS: Windows 10 Home 64-bit

The RAM is DDR2 and the 2GB sticks are Samsung and classified as Desktop Memory for Intel. Based on this information, is it the PSU being overburdened by the extra RAM? Even when I tried just removing one of them so that it would drop to 6GB, it still shut off soon after the desktop loaded in.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby Hellser » Sat Dec 12, 2015 10:55 am

It's possible. As ram actually takes some power. Mine for an example takes 1.6 volts. But shutting down after reaching the desktop doesn't seem like something the PSU will do. It could be a motherboard fault. But at the same time; 365-watt is a bit on the low side. If you can, try to find an 500-watt PSU. They're dirt cheap these days.

It also doesn't help too that AMD/ATi recommends 400 watt for that video card.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:17 pm

The GPU never gave me any issues, though, even if I used it to its full potential. It's only after this RAM that it started shutting itself off.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby Hellser » Sat Dec 12, 2015 12:52 pm

It's hard to really give any solid answer. Ram voltages range from 1.3 to 1.6 (and some; even higher) - it could be that the new ram you're trying to put in is using all the power that the computer can muster, and when the Video Card properly kicks in (going into Windows), your computer gives up the ghost. Maybe someone else on the ZDoom Forums can give you another answer.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sat Dec 12, 2015 1:09 pm

Well, the desktop loads up for a brief time and I'm even able to do some things but then it soon freezes and then shuts off a few seconds later. If it helps, the specifics of the RAM are:

4x 2GB DDR2 PC2-5300 667MHz
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby Blox » Sat Dec 12, 2015 3:49 pm

The only way you can find out is by using a different PSU. I very much doubt the GPU is eating up the maximum amount of power that it can all the time though, so it's likely a motherboard issue.
User avatar
Blox
I am Laziness Incarnate!
 
Joined: 22 Sep 2010
Location: Apathetic Limbo

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby Blzut3 » Sat Dec 12, 2015 4:14 pm

You may need to adjust the timings in the BIOS. Perhaps also try just two of the new sticks (one in each channel). That said, I'd probably look into replacing that PSU anyway. It has been a very long time since solid 365 watt PSUs were produced that aren't for niche low power markets.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby edward850 » Sun Dec 13, 2015 1:38 am

Indeed. I can't actually find PSUs at such a low rating in my local market, as most motherboards expect a higher rating. It should be noted that if your RAM really is maxing out your PSU, you are stretching your power requirements dangerously thin already.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:19 am

I'm beginning to think the issue may be corrupted RAM, despite what the buyer's description claims. Or maybe the speed is causing it. Even at 2 sticks, while it did last longer, it still ultimately ended up shutting off and I highly doubt 2 2GB sticks on startup is using more power than 1 2GB stick and 2 1GB sticks during a heavy gaming session. This is literally the first time the computer started shutting itself off, and I seriously doubt the GPU just naturally uses as much voltage as possible even when it's barely being touched.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby edward850 » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:58 am

Are you sure it's not a cooling issue?
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:01 am

Is there a way to check for that? It seems to shut off just as quickly whether or not the casing is over it so I can't imagine it's just an issue of running too hot, and does RAM really run that hot, especially when it feels cool to the touch when removed?
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby edward850 » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:06 am

RAM? Thermal shutoffs are first and foremost the CPU. ;)
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:07 am

Yet, this issue is 100% exclusive to the RAM. Even when I'm playing a huge open end world that pushes the CPU and GPU to their limits, it never shut down before. I'm using the old RAM right now and it's running perfectly fine. Unless different RAM causes the CPU to run hotter?
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby edward850 » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:12 am

I'm not asking you to check the RAM. I'm telling you to check your heatsink/thermal paste on the CPU and to make sure it's all making contact. The PC shutting off completely is a safe guard in case the CPU starts cooking itself. It is not a symptom of faulty RAM.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: 8GB of RAM too much for a 365-watt PSU?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Sun Dec 13, 2015 8:19 am

Well, according to Open Hardware Monitor, here are the temperatures:

CPU:
Core 1: 39º C
Core 2: 41º C
GPU: 42º C



So someone in another forum with a similar problem seemed to suggest that the problem could be that the default settings aren't providing enough volts that the RAM requires and that simply changing that in the BiOS will fix it but I'm not exactly sure where this option is. If it helps, the computer specifically is a Dell HQ Compaq DC7900 Mini-Tower.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Next

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests