Catacomb Series Question

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.
User avatar
cambertian
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 4:24 pm
Discord: cambertian#6245
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New England Area, USA

Catacomb Series Question

Post by cambertian »

I'm looking to extract some graphics from any of the Catacomb 3D games. It's for... reasons :wink:

Anyway, I've been looking to see if there's any editors that allow this, like a SLADE equivalent or whatever, but Google searches have done me no favors. I had read that the graphics had been compressed using Huffman Compression, and that they're in the EGAGraph format - but I don't know if that'll help me at all.
I'm a programmer, so I could probably create a utility if it gets to that point. However, I don't want to reinvent the wheel.

So, anybody have any leads?
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7295
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie
Location: MAP33

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by Kinsie »

User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17282
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by Nash »

I'm surprised no one's made a ZCatacomb mod yet! Loved those games back in the day. Hated the clunky controls though.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7295
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie
Location: MAP33

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by Kinsie »

Nash wrote:I'm surprised no one's made a ZCatacomb mod yet! Loved those games back in the day. Hated the clunky controls though.
The levels are way tinier and less visually diverse than Wolfenstein, and you'd need to do some work to get the EGA graphics and PC speaker audio up to Doom's par.

I did do a remake of Catacombs Abyss map 1 at one point, but it kind of sucked and it's since been eaten by time.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17282
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by Nash »

Kinsie wrote:
Nash wrote:I'm surprised no one's made a ZCatacomb mod yet! Loved those games back in the day. Hated the clunky controls though.
The levels are way tinier and less visually diverse than Wolfenstein, and you'd need to do some work to get the EGA graphics and PC speaker audio up to Doom's par.

I did do a remake of Catacombs Abyss map 1 at one point, but it kind of sucked and it's since been eaten by time.


If someone were to do a Catacombs mod right, I'd imagine it to be like ravage's Hocus Doom. Maps, graphics, overall polish etc
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Posts: 2397
Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 1:58 pm
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by zrrion the insect »

EGA is a surprisingly capable palette, and you could probably squeeze a lot of detail out of it without straying from those 16 colours.
It'd be a good idea to have more than 16 colours in the palette though, but only to be used by the colormap to make the light levels blend more smoothly.
User avatar
SamVision
Posts: 2424
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2010 4:47 pm
Location: Behind You

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by SamVision »

The levels are way tinier and less visually diverse than Wolfenstein, and you'd need to do some work to get the EGA graphics and PC speaker audio up to Doom's par.

What about the three other Catacombs games? How do those hold up? I've only played Abyss but only a shareware version and I was nine when I did.
User avatar
Kinsie
Posts: 7295
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 9:22 am
Discord: Find Me...
Twitch ID: thekinsie
Location: MAP33

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by Kinsie »

SamVision wrote:
The levels are way tinier and less visually diverse than Wolfenstein, and you'd need to do some work to get the EGA graphics and PC speaker audio up to Doom's par.

What about the three other Catacombs games? How do those hold up? I've only played Abyss but only a shareware version and I was nine when I did.
Every Wolf3D map is 64x64.
The Catacombs games do support maps of similar size (Big Wizard Maze in Apocalypse is 64x60) but most typical maps float around 40x28.
User avatar
cambertian
Posts: 344
Joined: Thu May 07, 2015 4:24 pm
Discord: cambertian#6245
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: New England Area, USA

Re: Catacomb Series Question

Post by cambertian »

Thanks for the help guys, but WDC doesn't want to read my game data, unfortunately. :(

Don't worry, though: there will be something coming your way, Catacomb fans! I've decided to go with custom graphics instead (still with an EGA palette, of course :lol: )
It's gonna take a while, but keep an eye on the Projects section.

Return to “Off-Topic”