Rigging 3D Models

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Wed Oct 14, 2015 4:03 pm

Is there any difference in rigging characters vs. vehicles? All of the rigging tutorials I find are based on humanoid characters.
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Zanieon » Wed Oct 14, 2015 4:21 pm

For anything other than humanoid you have to do the skeleton yourself, make a autorig and fix the weird parts manually depending what is.

For vehicles is pretty simple you just rig per object since vehicles works with objects that don't have to stretch.
e.g: A Jeep, you just rig the main body to a unique bone then the wheels to child bones of the suspension ones that is child of the root bone which holds the entire Jeep's body.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Wed Oct 14, 2015 8:36 pm

Thanks.
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:24 pm

Hey, I'm making Landing Gear. For the .md3 format, does the landing gear need to be a part of one big fuselage model, or can each of these bits be separate objects when I export?
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Zanieon » Wed Oct 14, 2015 11:33 pm

Due to MD3 limitations of 4 models to composite a object (established defaults of id Tech 3 itself), GZDoom iherits this and you can only define 4 models at once per actor, this is expensive to sync frames in MODELDEF, but however the best thing is you just save everyine as a single model but with everything in separated groups, that way you will not reach any limitation the MD3 format have.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Nash » Thu Oct 15, 2015 8:10 am

Be aware of this bug with multiple models in GZDoom: http://forum.drdteam.org/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=6629
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:41 am

Oh, I'm not talking about multiple models in the modeldef. In Blender, I've got the model all made up. Then, I created new landing gear meshes in the scene. At this point, I can attach the meshes to bones, OR I can join them to the fuselage and attach those vertices to bones. Basically, my question is when I export, am I only going to export the selected mesh or can I leave the landing gear as separate meshes? I don't want to add new landing gear models to the modeldef for this.
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Zanieon » Thu Oct 15, 2015 10:51 am

Blender exports everything selected as one model, you can separate those by exporting each one by selecting them individually, if you only select the vehicle, then you will get only the car as MD3 and the landing gear will remain only in Blender.

If you want everything at a single model then just select all ("A" Key) and export it.
User avatar
Zanieon
A Tamer of The Dark
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2009
Location: Somewhere in the future
Discord: Zanieon#3177
Twitch ID: Zanieon
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Thu Oct 15, 2015 11:35 am

Ok, fantastic - I can leave the individual pieces as separate meshes, rig and animate them, and then just be sure to export with all meshes selected.
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Nash » Thu Oct 15, 2015 12:29 pm

If you want to leave your objects as separate objects, assigning textures in MODELDEF won't work if each object is meant to use a different texture. The only way to assign textures this way is to rename each object's material to the path of the texture. Path is relative to the PK3 directory structure. For example, the wheel object's material would be named "models/my car/wheel.png", the car's body would have a material named "models/my car/body.png" etc. The MD3 exporter will convert material names to MD3 texture paths.
User avatar
Nash
Twitter/Facebook/Youtube: nashmuhandes
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Twitch ID: nashmuhandes
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: Rigging 3D Models

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Tue Oct 20, 2015 10:55 am

Oh, no - all of the meshes will be exported in the same model. I'm not doing any texture swapping or anything. Maybe I'll try that out later.
User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marisa Kirisame and 1 guest