Need to re flash an Android ROM?

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:03 pm

My RCA Pro 10 tablet seems to be corrupted following an official firmware upgrade, it just goes straight to to recovery menu each time. I factory reset and cleared the cache to no avail. I tried img files from


http://forum.xda-developers.com/showpos ... ostcount=1


via adb but both the recovery and boot abort instantly. Any help would be appreciated.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby wildweasel » Wed Apr 15, 2015 5:09 pm

I'm not sure how many people here are skilled in Android support; perhaps try Google's official support forum?
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:25 pm

Figured it was worth a shot, you got a link to the forum? Searching for specifically that has been pretty scattered.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby RUNSABER » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:31 pm

You may have to reflash your nand (firmware used before custom ROM was flashed) via your backup and restore menus. You did back up your NAND, right? If not, you can find a stock nand available on XDA or around the net.
User avatar
RUNSABER
Battlehammer God
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2015

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Wed Apr 15, 2015 8:48 pm

I didn't put any custom ROM on it, the most I ever did was root it. It was all stock. I didn't make any back ups, is it recovery.img? That's what popped up when I searched for it.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby RUNSABER » Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:00 pm

You will need to use a NAND backup to restore your interface. Your recovery should be displayed in the folder available with the date you created the backup i.e. "4_12_15/" Once you restore your backup, or flash a stock rom, you'll need to clear your cache, & Dalvik cache. Official firmware updates have a habit of screwing with a rooted firmware. If you wish to update, you'll need to use rooted updates as opposed to Over-The-Air updates.
User avatar
RUNSABER
Battlehammer God
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2015

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Wed Apr 15, 2015 10:03 pm

I actually said I didn't back it up. I'm having trouble finding a ROM for it anywhere.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby RUNSABER » Thu Apr 16, 2015 12:34 am

You totally don't have to be rude to me. On that note, back up your Nandroid before carelessly rooting, and you will never have this problem again.
User avatar
RUNSABER
Battlehammer God
 
Joined: 02 Apr 2015

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby phantombeta » Thu Apr 16, 2015 3:05 am

Uh...
How is he being rude?
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Thu Apr 16, 2015 5:53 am

I was just telling you what I said. I appreciate your advice on what I should have done but what do you suggest I do for the situation at hand other than wish I'd backed it up?
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby Caligari87 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:36 am

Basically, if you didn't make a backup, then you'll need to find a stock ROM for your device. Hopefully someone else made one or the manufacturer provides it. If not, then maybe there's a custom ROM build (like Cyanogenmod) that would work for that model. If all of that fails, then you're kinda boned because a ROM generally won't work on any device except the one it was built for. If all else fails, you can try ROMs for similar-spec models, or another manufacturer that uses the same hardware (I had to do the latter with my wife's tablet) and maybe you'll get lucky; just be aware it may not work and has a good chance of permanently bricking your device.

EDIT: Check out www.androidarea51.com. I found a pseudo-stock, rooted ROM backup for my obscure LG Tracfone model there. If there's *any* android enthusiasts with your same phone, then chances are they've got a subforum for it.

8-)
Last edited by Caligari87 on Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:40 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:40 am

Yeah, I'm really hoping at least RCA can give me a ROM for it so I can just flash that on, they should easily be able to provide one since it was theirs to begin with.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby Caligari87 » Thu Apr 16, 2015 7:41 am

Assuming they wish to play nice with support, since rooting usually is against the TOS/warranty for the device if I'm not mistaken. ;)

In case you didn't see my edit: Check out http://www.androidarea51.com. I found a pseudo-stock, rooted ROM backup for my obscure LG Tracfone model there. If there's *any* android enthusiasts with your same phone, then chances are they've got a subforum for it.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby MetroidJunkie » Thu Apr 16, 2015 9:04 am

Looks like even AndroidArea51 doesn't have any info. I'd love to ask the person who made that thread on xda if he could give me a ROM since he clearly has that tablet and was able to extract some stuff but XDA doesn't seem to allow me. Maybe RCA will just give me a ROM without asking any questions if I'm lucky, it's not like it costs them anything to just give me a file through an email and they don't even have to give me instructions since I know how to do it already, it should be the same as when I put CM on my little Android.


Come to think of it, is it possible to make a ROM out of a system.tar? Because the guy on XDA also managed to extract that. That's basically the core of a ROM, right? There's also boot.img and recovery.img, worst case scenario maybe it's possible to stitch this stuff into a ROM.
User avatar
MetroidJunkie
 
Joined: 19 Aug 2011

Re: Need to re flash an Android ROM?

Postby zrrion the insect » Thu Apr 16, 2015 11:14 am

If you can swing it, you could purchase another RCA Pro 10 tablet from a retailer that allows returns, make a backup from, and then return, that one, and use the backup on the old one.
User avatar
zrrion the insect
Like a fish in a child's hands.
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2009
Location: Time Station 1: Moon of Glendale

Next

Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: mjr4077au and 0 guests