45%
Unreal Engine
55%

Total votes: 11

Nash

Unity or Unreal Engine?

Post by Nash »

(No "why not both" memes please)

I have both currently and already went through the newbie tutorials for both packages and already have a basic feel of navigating their UIs a little, but I want to go beyond just knowing how to just dragging and dropping meshes. :) I have been modding ZDoom for 14 years and I've learned a lot over the years and I want to pick just one engine and stick through it and hopefully acquire the same level of proficiency as I have with ZDoom. Which engine would you pick? I'm so confused right now.
Zanieon
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support

Re: Unity or Unreal Engine?

Post by Zanieon »

Well, my second workload after Doom is Unreal, i never touched in Unity so i can't say much, but you can go fine on Unreal Engine, especially now on the 4th.
Nash

Post by Nash »

Unreal's renderer definitely looks more professional and polished... however apparently UE4's ability for user modding for your games seems stunted... I wonder how ROTT2013 accomplished user modding in UE3? On the other end though, all I've ever seen from Unity games are toy'ish mid-2000-era graphics with shaders tacked on... if anyone knows of a high quality AAA game with true current/nextgen graphics made in Unity, feel free to prove me wrong...
Scripten

Post by Scripten »

Nash wrote:Unreal's renderer definitely looks more professional and polished... however apparently UE4's ability for user modding for your games seems stunted... I wonder how ROTT2013 accomplished user modding in UE3? On the other end though, all I've ever seen from Unity games are toy'ish mid-2000-era graphics with shaders tacked on... if anyone knows of a high quality AAA game with true current/nextgen graphics made in Unity, feel free to prove me wrong...