Laptop to run GZDoom with

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby black-thrones » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:26 am

I plan on buying a new laptop in a couple of months to do study, record/play/store music and play games on it. Yes I know laptops aren't the ideal choice for gaming but I'm not in a good position to have a desktop in my current home. I'm not particularly tech savvy, so I thought I'd ask this question here:

https://www.jbhifi.com.au/computers-tab ... ok/632119/

Will this laptop be good enough to use GZDoom with no problems in framerate or anything? I plan on playing Brutal Doom with this as well. As far as I know it can be a performance hog on older laptops so it'd be good to know. Thanks.
User avatar
black-thrones
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2013

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby edward850 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:37 am

1.5 GHz AMD Quad-Core A4-5000 APU with Radeon HD 8330 Graphics

... Uhm... No.

  • Never buy an APU. For anything. Not even people you hate.
  • 1.5GHz is very very old hat. Especially with Doom, which pretty much demands raw clock speed in exchange for more complexity. Parallelism isn't a substitute, either, as Doom cannot use it. Yes, ZDoom can run on a 1.5GHz CPU, however if you want to run overly intricate mods...
  • Don't willing buy AMD with the intent to run GZDoom, although this is more anecdotal.
  • You cannot optimize anything for Brutal Doom. It's a very badly designed mod. In fact, don't even mention Brutal Doom, if only to avoid starting conversation about it.

Seriously, I hope you can set your sights set higher than $500. You're looking at at least a 1.5 grand laptop to run anything modern. Selling yourself short off the track is only going to immediately push you out of the support curve.
Last edited by edward850 on Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:53 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby black-thrones » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:49 am

Sweet as then. Thanks
User avatar
black-thrones
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2013

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby edward850 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:52 am

By the way, that is the second 1.5GHz APU I have seen someone consider "a standard computer", today. Is some aggressive marketer trying to unload old stock or something? Well, less old and more "pointless on arrival". :P
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Feb 25, 2015 3:57 am

@Edward:

I think you missed the dedicated graphics card in there so it won't be this bad, albeit still not great. The CPU will be a major bottleneck, though. 1.5 GHz isn't really that great for gaming. It'll be enough to run older games, but for more recent stuff or more complex ZDoom maps it won't really be sufficient.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby edward850 » Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:04 am

Holy crud you're right. With 2 GB dedicated, even. It's a shame that the CPU would choke that to hell, and it's basically only on par with a GeForce 820M anyway. It is indeed a $500 netbook. :P

But yeah. It'll run GZDoom, but you would be getting about the same performance my phone does running Doom. Great if you want to play BTSX on the go, and not much else. They are designed as portable e-mail browsers, after all.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby TheBadHustlex » Wed Feb 25, 2015 4:48 am

Well, I can play Sunder, Hell-Revealed I & II and co with ketchup-mod and RussianOverkill at a stable and nice framerate. I paid 850$ for my laptop, but I can also use Adobe Premiere (need to use it), Visual Studio, and basically every game I have without any kinds of trouble.

I think you shouldn't be sparing money when you try to buy a good computer.
User avatar
TheBadHustlex
Better than stalin.
 
Joined: 03 Oct 2013
Location: 'stria

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby black-thrones » Wed Feb 25, 2015 5:00 am

Yeah after reading this I think I'll wait it out and save up further before I finally buy a new one now. Or at least until my current decrepit laptop finally dies.
User avatar
black-thrones
 
Joined: 16 Nov 2013

Re: Laptop to run GZDoom with

Postby DaMan » Thu Feb 26, 2015 1:19 am

edward850 wrote:Is some aggressive marketer trying to unload old stock or something? Well, less old and more "pointless on arrival". :P

Its the never ending race to the bottom. OEM's will literally do anything to save a buck (see Superfish). They slap quad core on it and expect people will think its faster than their old dual core.
DaMan
100M club member
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Edward-san, phantombeta and 4 guests