Forum doesn't use HTTPS

If it's not ZDoom, it goes here.

Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby BFeely » Sat Jan 31, 2015 12:59 pm

Shoudn't you use HTTPS to protect this site's users' passwords?
BFeely
 
Joined: 11 Mar 2004
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: Yes (Using Development/Testing Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby edward850 » Sat Jan 31, 2015 4:40 pm

The certificate to use https properly actually requires money. Money Randi may not have.
User avatar
edward850
[netcode intensifies]
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2005
Location: New Zealand

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby randi » Sat Jan 31, 2015 11:25 pm

Indeed.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby Blzut3 » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:45 am

Actually you can get one for free: http://www.startssl.com/

It is still kind of more pain than it's worth. ZDoom doesn't seem like a likely attack vector.
Blzut3
Pronounced: B-l-zut
 
 
 
Joined: 24 Nov 2004
Github ID: Blzut3
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby Ixnatifual » Sun Feb 01, 2015 8:23 am

I get viruses from the zdoom forums all the time. Cool story.
User avatar
Ixnatifual
Is that virtuous?!
 
Joined: 12 Dec 2003

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby Hellser » Sun Feb 01, 2015 9:40 am

I get viruses from about:blank all the time. :| Besides the silliness, I don't think these forums need HTTPS. It's not like we're exchanging credit card information.
User avatar
Hellser
Remember Citadel
Global Moderator
 
Joined: 25 Jun 2006
Location: Citadel Station
Discord: Hellser#8156
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby DaMan » Sun Feb 01, 2015 11:41 am

A password can be as good as a credit card though. Don't login here on public wifi if your forum and Amazon password are the same.
User avatar
DaMan
100M club member
 
Joined: 01 Jan 2010

Re: Forum doesn't use HTTPS

Postby NeuralStunner » Sun Feb 01, 2015 12:08 pm

DaMan wrote:Don't login here on public wifi if your forum and Amazon password are the same.
Translation: Don't be stupid if you're stupid. :|

Never share passwords between trivial accounts, or even between important accounts. If you're careless with your passwords, don't count on SSL to save you.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
not actually a catgirl
 
 
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: =o_O=
Discord: NeuralStunner#4201
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)


Return to Off-Topic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests