[Code] Footsteps - v5 released!

Post your example zscripts/ACS scripts/etc here.

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby Skrell » Fri Sep 12, 2014 2:57 pm

Grigori wrote:
Skrell wrote:Wow this is great news! Can you please provide detailed instructions as to what you did to get it to work?

ie.) 1. GZDOOM/Zandro?
2. Load order?
3. What other, if any, addons did you load along with it? (ie. would a texture pack break foostepsv3?)
4. Brutal Doom SE/EE/Vanilla ?

GZDoom. I just have it in autoload, so it loads before everything I load manually. I played SE and Vanilla with it. Just download and try it yourself.

i did try it and it didn't work :( Couple things that i thought could be problematic:
1. I did use the dhtp and i'm wondering if different floor textures could cause footstepsv3 to fail?
2. I did load footstepsv3 LAST in my load order so i'll try changing that.
3. I tried it on a custom map WAD that also might have unique textures and hence affect it (i'm making a big leap here that somewhere in the footstepsv3 code it looks at the texture the user is on to determine what sounds to play PLEASE tell me i'm wrong if you happen to know ACS)

Would you be able to test it on Zandro without too much effort?
Skrell
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2013

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:22 pm

V3 is not supported by Zandronum, so if you're trying to run it with that, you're outta luck.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby Skrell » Fri Sep 12, 2014 7:39 pm

The Zombie Killer wrote:V3 is not supported by Zandronum, so if you're trying to run it with that, you're outta luck.


NOooooooo!!!! :(((((( Please make compatible? Is this even possible?
Skrell
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2013

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:54 pm

Skrell wrote:
The Zombie Killer wrote:V3 is not supported by Zandronum, so if you're trying to run it with that, you're outta luck.


NOooooooo!!!! :(((((( Please make compatible? Is this even possible?

V2 is compatible with Zandronum, V3 uses some advanced features that don't work in Zandronum. I haven't tried, but if you disable use of CVars in LANGUAGE, then it may work in Zandronum without any code modification.
Now that I think about it though, I don't think Zandronum supports the required features to convert strings to integers, so it'd be more work than it's worth, when you could just wait for Zandronum to support those features instead.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby Skrell » Sat Sep 13, 2014 12:00 pm

The Zombie Killer wrote:
Skrell wrote:
The Zombie Killer wrote:V3 is not supported by Zandronum, so if you're trying to run it with that, you're outta luck.


NOooooooo!!!! :(((((( Please make compatible? Is this even possible?

V2 is compatible with Zandronum, V3 uses some advanced features that don't work in Zandronum. I haven't tried, but if you disable use of CVars in LANGUAGE, then it may work in Zandronum without any code modification.
Now that I think about it though, I don't think Zandronum supports the required features to convert strings to integers, so it'd be more work than it's worth, when you could just wait for Zandronum to support those features instead.

Ok, well thank you for the reply. What version of GZDoom is the minimum # for this mod to worK?
Skrell
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2013

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Sat Sep 13, 2014 8:18 pm

Whichever version that added CVARINFO, which I believe is ZDoom 2.7.0/GZDoom 1.8.0. Although if you disable "CONTROLWITHCVARS" in LANGUAGE, then you won't even need that requirement.

When v3.1 is released, I'll be using a proper ACS String-to-Int function, which will instead require a version that has GetChar.
Last edited by The Zombie Killer on Thu Sep 18, 2014 3:37 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby Blue Shadow » Sat Sep 13, 2014 9:54 pm

The Zombie Killer wrote:ZDoom 2.7.0

Fixed that for you. :P
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
 
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby noonecares » Sat Oct 04, 2014 1:55 am

Where can I define the volume of the footsteps? I tried changing it in language.txt but it made no difference.
User avatar
noonecares
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Location: Under a boulder (That I built myself.)

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby osjclatchford » Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:28 am

could anyone provide a link that's not dropbox?
osjclatchford
 
Joined: 07 Feb 2011

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Sat Oct 04, 2014 3:49 am

osjclatchford wrote:could anyone provide a link that's not dropbox?

Here, a puush link

noonecares wrote:Where can I define the volume of the footsteps? I tried changing it in language.txt but it made no difference.

For now I'm pretty sure the language.txt stuff is broken when it comes to decimal numbers, try setting "CONTROLWITHCVARS" to "TRUE" in language.txt, and change the console commands instead.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby noonecares » Sat Oct 04, 2014 5:22 am

I tried that and there were no footstep sounds at all. :|
User avatar
noonecares
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Location: Under a boulder (That I built myself.)

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Sat Oct 04, 2014 6:33 am

Works on my end, are you using the latest version of G/ZDoom?
Try a Git build from over here: GZDoom Development Builds
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v3 released!

Postby noonecares » Sat Oct 04, 2014 8:24 am

I downloaded the latest version, still no sound. I guess I'm just gonna go with the silent stuff then..

EDIT: Nevermind, apparently I had a sound wad that was somehow conflicting with the footstep sounds.
User avatar
noonecares
 
Joined: 26 Aug 2014
Location: Under a boulder (That I built myself.)

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v4 released! Zandronum support!

Postby The Zombie Killer » Sun Dec 28, 2014 12:47 am

Version 4 released. Zandronum is now fully supported if you use LANGUAGE rather than CVars, and I've fixed all the issues with LANGUAGE values being read incorrectly.
User avatar
The Zombie Killer
King of the Kangaroos
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2011
Location: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Discord: Zombie#1795

Re: [Code] Footsteps - v4 released! Zandronum support!

Postby Skrell » Sun Dec 28, 2014 10:36 am

OMG OMG OMG i love you!! I've been waiting for this !! :) Will the players be able to hear each other's steps in coop ?

PS: Is there any chance you could up the volume of the footsteps just a bit? Or somehow make it variable to the user? Also, i dont notice footsteps for the monsters? Is this correct?
Skrell
 
Joined: 25 Mar 2013

PreviousNext

Return to Script Library

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest