[Can't reproduce] Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Volasaurus » Mon Dec 14, 2020 1:38 pm

Description:
When playing with custom oggs, occasionally they'll "skip" like an old CD-player. It's consistently around the same length every time, but this length varies from session to session. Before importing these oggs and after exporting them with slade, they sound fine, but in-game the skipping occurs. This doesn't happen to every ogg. As far as I can tell, this is only happening with OGGs larger than 4 MB.

Priority: Eh? Not high, but there could be something more insidious causing it?

Steps to Reproduce:
1. Open GZDoom with a resource that has custom OGGs larger than 4 MB.
2. Play as normal, but stay in a level long enough to let the music finish at least once.
Volasaurus
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Discord: 🦖Volasaurus#0260
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Chris » Tue Dec 15, 2020 9:00 pm

Does it only happen after looping? Is music affected, or sound effects, or both? "Oggs larger than 4 MB" is a bit vague, and I tested with an 8.4MB Ogg without any noticeable problem after looping. Do you have a specific file exhibiting the problem?
User avatar
Chris
 
Joined: 17 Jul 2003

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby SanyaWaffles » Wed Dec 16, 2020 12:45 am

I've not noticed any lagging with large OGGs on my end and we use loop points extensively.
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Certified Heretic and Grill Champion
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Disappointment Island
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Dec 16, 2020 1:08 am

I also never experienced this kind of thing with recent code. A long time ago there was a problem like this when looping MP3's but that was due to a bug in the decoder library that could be worked around. What GZDoom version are you using?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Volasaurus » Fri Dec 18, 2020 2:47 pm

To answer your questions:

It happens the first time it plays, and it only happens with music. Two specific tracks seem to do this, but none of the rest of the tracks in the wad exhibit this behavior. In addition, while played in SLADE and while played outside of the game, these oggs play back normally.

I'm using GZdoom 4.5.0.
Volasaurus
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Discord: 🦖Volasaurus#0260
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Dec 19, 2020 1:14 am

So, what tracks? Can you post a link?
And what's your system's specs, e.g. CPU type, how many cores, SSD or HDD?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby Volasaurus » Sat Dec 19, 2020 4:48 am

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1OLZgRV2l3rqlnMR6uoYqxYckN_RgMV7u/view?usp=sharing

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1QhZv8OwXDnfM8KAUDn23BwH-ltwbqwGd/view?usp=sharing

CPU: AMD Ryzen 5 1600 (12 threads on 6 cores)
GPU: EVGA Nvidia GeForce 1060 6GB
RAM: 64 GB @ 1066 MHz (lol, I know)
Relevant SSD: 55 GB Patriot Blaze
Volasaurus
 
Joined: 03 Mar 2020
Discord: 🦖Volasaurus#0260
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Large Custom OGGs "skipping"

Postby SanyaWaffles » Tue Dec 29, 2020 3:16 am

I have a question. Does your audio files have looping points?
User avatar
SanyaWaffles
Certified Heretic and Grill Champion
 
Joined: 25 Apr 2013
Location: Disappointment Island
Discord: SanyaWaffles#5095
Twitch ID: sanyawaffles
Operating System: Windows 11
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support


Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests