Page 1 of 1

Some Ambient Sounds Dont Play.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 3:57 am
by Steve5563
Hi there.
just raising a issue that i have noticed with lots of ambient sounds placed in my map, 620 ambient sounds to be exact
this issue is that not all of them actually play when using gzdoom
even if i have duplicated the same ambient sound and placed it in another area of the same map.
if you get near the jump pads placed around the map and listen for the jump pad ambient sound, which is placed in the middle of each jump pad sector, you will notice not all of them play. currently tested this with 3.7.2
this has been a issue in previous versions and i don't know how far back it goes.
this bug can effect all the different types of ambient sounds in the library not just jump pad sfx,
the strange thing is when i play the map and have a listen to which sounds are working and which are not. i can then exit the game and close gzdoom down.
then i will restart gzdoom and jump back in the map again and i will notice that some sounds that were playing in the previous game are now not playing.
and the sounds that were not playing in the previous game are now playing. its like gzdoom picks and chooses what it wants to play.
yet when i play the map using zandronum 3.0 all the ambient sounds placed in the map work every single time.
you can play my map to hear what i mean.
cheers
Link to my map ---- https://www.moddb.com/games/doom-ii/add ... ground-v10

Re: Some Ambient Sounds Dont Play.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:37 am
by Graf Zahl
What's your amount of sound channels? GZDoom sets 64 by default, but for sound heavy maps a value of 256 would be better suited. This sounds just like your setting there is too low.

Re: Some Ambient Sounds Dont Play.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 10:25 am
by Steve5563
yea i have the sound channels set to 256 and i tried different sound settings etc.... kinda went through everything to do with the sound settings to find the issue and no luck. but when i use zandronum 3.0 every ambient sound placed in the map works so not really sure what's going on. thanks for the reply

Re: Some Ambient Sounds Dont Play.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:09 pm
by Chris
How long is the ambient sound, and are they set to play looping? 610 sounds is quite a lot, they can't all play simultaneously so the engine will play the nearest ones it can. For sounds that are looping, the ones that fail to play should regularly try to restart, preempting the farthest sound of lesser priority (or equal priority if it's closer). Any newly-started sound should also attempt a similar preemption. That's how it used to behave, anyway.

Re: Some Ambient Sounds Dont Play.

PostPosted: Mon Jan 28, 2019 8:45 pm
by Steve5563
yea all of the sounds are set up for looping, there is 41 ambient sounds in the library just duplicated that many times in the level which adds up to 620 placed in around the map, probably around 5 of them are activated and deactivated by script but they are a looping sound.
the sound lengths are 1 about minute long and under and some are as short as 6 seconds long and then they start looping again.
the sounds don't seem to try and restart like you mentioned.
the sounds that are a looping sound but are triggered on and off by scripting work every single time. its only the sounds that start playing and looping when the map is loaded.
the best sound to listen out for is the jumpads you will hear the issue very quickly as you move around the level and the jumpads play for 6 seconds before looping again.
so this kinda already shows that gzdoom is not trying to restart the sound. the thing is in some areas the jump pad sounds are playing and then if you go to a different area of the map where more jump pads are they don't have the sound playing yet i am using the same sound for all of them.
then if you restart the level you will notice that some sounds are now playing and others are not. its like gzdoom is says i have this amount of sounds that i can play and it randomly picks which ones its going to play every time the map is loaded.
yet when i play the map with zandronum 3.0 all the sounds work as they should.