[Fixed] Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Bugs that have been investigated and resolved somehow.

Moderator: Developers

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Barrels » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:17 pm

I think they should create a more accurate GM sf2 before setting fluidsynth as the default. Some instruments are louder than they should be such as 'Electronic Piano 1' and 'Synth Brass 1' among others, and I feel that the reverb they have set the instruments to is too strong.
Barrels
 
Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Discord: 9124

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby wildweasel » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:22 pm

More accurate to what, though? Also, bear in mind you are entirely free to swap in your own SF2 if the bundled one does not suit your needs.
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Barrels » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:47 pm

I mean more accurate, as in closer to the original DLS file when it comes to an instrument's volume and ASDR values. An example of what I'm talking about can be heard when playing "Shawn's Got the Shotgun". When it's played through the Wavetable Synth everything is fine. When you play it through gzdoom.sf2, the Synth Brass blares through everything else.
Barrels
 
Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Discord: 9124

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby wildweasel » Mon Dec 25, 2017 7:49 pm

Consider using this soundfont which uses the Roland Sound Canvas patch set (the same patch set as GM.DLS).
User avatar
wildweasel
「お前はもうトースト」[you are already toast.]
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Rachael » Mon Dec 25, 2017 9:51 pm

The soundfont in question was chosen because it was small, not because it sounded better than the others.

Without having FMOD anymore to hold our hand completely through midi playback, a better default was needed.
User avatar
Rachael
QZDoom + Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Xaser » Tue Dec 26, 2017 9:59 am

Midi composer's opinion: The included soundfont is actually rather decent. The issue is that *ZDoom's Fluidsynth settings have Reverb and Chorus on by default, which make things sound super-wrong. Switch them both off and you'll get something quite comparable to FMOD's playback -- though IIRC Chorus isn't exposed in the menu at the moment. I keep forgetting to suggest adding it. :P
User avatar
Xaser
anarchivist
 
 
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby _mental_ » Tue Dec 26, 2017 10:34 am

Do you want fluid_chorus CVAR to be added to Advanced Sound Options menu?
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Barrels » Tue Dec 26, 2017 1:17 pm

That would be a great idea. I had no idea about fluid_chorus, and after turning it off, the instruments stopped drowning out other instruments, which was my main gripe with the soundfont.
Barrels
 
Joined: 27 Nov 2017
Discord: 9124

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Graf Zahl » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:23 am

Ursula Lightdale wrote:Apparently, either certain or all SysEx events prevent midis from playing on ZDoom through the GS Wavetable, and deleting said events from the songs allow them to play. That doesn't stop the Wavetable from turning the songs into trash though...



Yes, that's indeed the cause. Filtering out those events for the wavetable synth makes those songs play again that before were silent.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Jimmy » Tue Nov 06, 2018 11:41 pm

Awesome!! I'm hoping this will enable the use of every DN3D (and likewise) MIDI again in ZDoom wads.
Jimmy
I picked a fine day to be lactose intolerant
 
 
 
Joined: 10 Apr 2006
Location: Perth, WA
Discord: Jimmy#4100
Twitch ID: JimmySquared

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Graf Zahl » Wed Nov 07, 2018 2:19 am

All other synths play them. I really don't get why people are so attached to Microsoft' shitty system softsynth. Even though these MIDIs play again the entire thing hasn't changed from being shit. It is by far the worsrt of all availavble options.
And for external synths these events are not filtered out, just for the one I consider deprecated anyway. The Windows solution is mainly there so that it can drive external hardware, not the GS softsynth. If that was the only thing it was used for I'd already have removed the code when FluidSynth was made the default.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: Absent MIDIs, Stuttering OPL3 (.RAW/.IMF)

Postby Player701 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 3:01 am

Graf Zahl wrote:I really don't get why people are so attached to Microsoft' shitty system softsynth. Even though these MIDIs play again the entire thing hasn't changed from being shit. It is by far the worsrt of all availavble options.

Can't say for others, but personally, I'm very used to how Doom MIDIs sound on the Windows synth. The instruments from the default soundbank fit the Doom atmosphere quite well, or at least that's what I feel. However, I'm not in favor of supporting deprecated technologies either, so I went ahead and managed to find an SF2 soundfont that sounds exactly like the Windows synth. I don't exactly remember where I found it, though. It seems to be a direct conversion of the default GM.DLS soundbank, which comes with Windows. I'm not sure if it's legal to distribute it openly - if it is, then I can post a link here.
User avatar
Player701
You are now breathing manually.
 
Joined: 13 May 2009
Location: Russian Federation
Discord: Player701#8214

Previous

Return to Closed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests