Page 7 of 11

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:34 am
by Pixel Eater
It still dont work.

Even more, if I change render mode to any non-opengl I see gray spectre.
If select opengl render mode I see purple spectre.

Yeah I think it needs OpenGL to work.

Does 'stat gpu' show the shaders as being active?

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:38 am
by Apeirogon
Screenshot_Doom_20180708_163659.png

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:50 am
by Pixel Eater
It's weird how we're getting such different results!
The box's upper three edges missing, the vertex numbers being printed top-center and a purple spectre in a pear tree? :o
I think I may have to take a look at this in the morning when my mind coffee is fresher.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:56 am
by Apeirogon
No, "box" draws normal. That because I shrink image. and numbers at the top...that my debug console.printf()-s in render overlay.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:07 am
by Pixel Eater
Oh ok, phew :)

Something else to note- although it's working on mine, the lensing itself looks a bit ragged since adding the sprite purplefying shader...

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 8:53 pm
by doomfiend
just checking in to see if you guys have made any ground discoveries, by the sounds of it. you 2 made alot of progress?

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Sun Jul 08, 2018 9:43 pm
by Pixel Eater
Hey Doomfiend,
I admittedly went on a tangent with an alternate method but that wasn't friendly to other purple sprites so I'm back on track again :P
We're working on a bug now that seems to be hardware dependant. I just have to tie up a loose end before I can ask Apeirogon to test it out again.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 12:09 am
by Pixel Eater
I've got fingers crossed on this. Changes:

Only one instance of FragColor in the shader. I'm hoping this cures the bug.
The shader's bounding box now has perspective skewing. Menu updated for testing purposes (only affects ZScript box).
Reduced the recent raggedyness of the lensing.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 4:31 am
by Apeirogon
Now its works, but nol like previous versions.
https://imgur.com/a/Hordbrg

On left spectre "edit7" version, on right spectre "alt2" version.
On second image what happens if you try to look through "alt2" spectre verion on "edit7" version.
Both spectres use same cvar values.

IF this works for you, maybe this is something with my hard/soft ware. Need someone else to test this...

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 8:42 am
by Apeirogon
Thats weird, I start rewriting check_owner_fov items, so that spectre dont go in cloak SUDDENLY if it came out of the corner, and after couple runs shader start work as it should. I dont know why.

Probably its really something with my hard/soft ware.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Mon Jul 09, 2018 3:54 pm
by Pixel Eater
Seeing those side-by-side really makes the alternate one look better. To get around showing the purple edges it makes an "infinite" wall (2560 x 1600px) of purple to test what's fore/background. But that doesn't play well with neighbouring purple sprites and might be why the 'edit7' version looks worse than usual when they're alongside each other.

I think I will make a feature request for a flag to remove texture filtering, upscaling, etc. for individual sprites and that way I can scale the purple wall back down to Spectre size. Edit: It's here.

Probably its really something with my hard/soft ware.
So hard to tell- it only happened once the shaders became stacked :shrug:

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:21 am
by Apeirogon
Why kust dont change "texture" size using actors scale property?
I just didnt quite understand what you try to achive.

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:04 am
by Pixel Eater
I can scale it back down but then the edges are visibly purple. By making it so large that the edges are always off screen it's possible to use texture upsampling and filtering. But when it's that big it also undoes all the work you've been doing by affecting other intentionally purple sprites.

Either way something gets sacrificed- which is why I made the feature request. It should remove the purple outlines and the need for a giant sprite 8-)

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:30 am
by Apeirogon
I play in last guncaster version, and there are exist upgrade for weapon, which can show sprite of enemy through walls, taking into account sprite rotation.
So, I can, using guncaster example, extract actor sprite. Maybe you can do something with sprite itself, before draw it on player screen?

Re: Fill Spectre v3.1

PostPosted: Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:53 am
by Pixel Eater
I've seen a screenshot of that recently, maybe in the WIP thread?

I'm not sure what you're intending to do though, pass the sprite into a shader as an array? That'd be pretty cool :D