Low Detail Shader

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Sun May 12, 2019 2:35 pm

PixelCrunch wrote:I also use GZDOOM 3.7.1 (because my shitty graphics card does not support OpenGL 3.0+), but i'm not sure how i can make that work, as i've never tested it there.

Rachael wrote:If it doesn't work then your card is probably not supporting shaders.

You can't make it work, sorry.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby PixelCrunch » Sun May 12, 2019 3:37 pm

Is there some sort of thing i have to do to activate it (eg. certain button presses, ect.)

Also, how do i check if my gfx card can handle shaders?
User avatar
PixelCrunch
Grand High Slaughtermaster Supreme Special
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2019
Location: Everywhere, yet nowhere.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 32-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Beezle » Sun May 12, 2019 3:41 pm

PixelCrunch wrote:Sorry if i necro or not, but for me it's not working. I put the code into the Console in QZDOOM 2.1.0, but nothing happens at all. Please help me get it to run, i'm trying to make a true Jaguar Doom TC!

Yeah I tried GZDoom 3.6 and ZDoom 2.8.1 and it wouldn't work, but it worked no problem with anything later than 3.6.
Beezle
 
Joined: 16 Aug 2018
Discord: #8423

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Sun May 12, 2019 3:58 pm

PixelCrunch wrote:Is there some sort of thing i have to do to activate it (eg. certain button presses, ect.)

Also, how do i check if my gfx card can handle shaders?

You just told us straight up that your card can't handle newer versions of GZDoom.

I don't know how to explain it in a way that you can understand - but unfortunately, the shader only works if you're able to run the newer versions. It'll run just fine for everyone who can run those newer versions, though.

The hardware requirements for running this shader are the same as they are for the newer versions of GZDoom.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Darkcrafter » Sun May 12, 2019 6:34 pm

I don't know, you definitely doing something wrong guys, works fine with this card: https://youtu.be/iQIFF1OVic4

Did we really live to the times when a modern graphics card needed to run doom in 320x200 :wink:

Should I say
Spoiler:
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby wildweasel » Sun May 12, 2019 8:42 pm

Darkcrafter wrote:Did we really live to the times when a modern graphics card needed to run doom in 320x200 :wink:

You can still run Doom in 320x200. It's running GZDoom in 320x200 that requires a different approach.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Sun May 12, 2019 8:55 pm

There are plans to restore 320x200 compatibility with menus and all, but they're on the back burner right now.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Darkcrafter » Mon May 13, 2019 4:17 pm

Yeah that's nice. But Mr.Vulkan's first! :) I won't get surprised if GZDoom supports multithreading after this because I heard vulkan and directx 12 are so way ahead of opengl and directx 11 on that.
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby PixelCrunch » Tue May 14, 2019 2:43 pm

Rachael, can you AT LEAST make a version of your shader for Legacy GZDOOM? Please?
User avatar
PixelCrunch
Grand High Slaughtermaster Supreme Special
 
Joined: 16 Jan 2019
Location: Everywhere, yet nowhere.
Operating System: Windows Vista/7 32-bit
Graphics Processor: Intel (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Tue May 14, 2019 2:47 pm

How? The legacy path for GZDoom will not support custom post shaders - period.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby dpJudas » Tue May 14, 2019 2:48 pm

To add to Rachael's answer: the features required to do post-processing is exactly what older hardware doesn't support and therefore isn't included in legacy versions. Old hardware cannot magically be made to do stuff it was never built for.
dpJudas
 
 
 
Joined: 28 May 2016

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Tue May 14, 2019 2:54 pm

Exactly. This isn't a question of whether I want to or not. This is a question of "I simply can't do it".

A lot of modern features in GZDoom require a newer graphics card in order to function. If I could, I would do it, but this one's out of my hands. Your GPU chip is just too old. There's a reason why developers keep shitting on it - and it's because it can't do the things you expect us to wave our fingers and magically make it work to do.
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Darkcrafter » Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:08 am

There is definitely some sort of magic going on with pixelated look. I always noticed that the higher resolution is there the more details must be in a scene not to get boring and flattie. Human brain wants to explore, with higher resolution there is not a much of that "learning curve" to it, so it's getting to know the scene geometry much more quickly than if it would looking at pixels trying to guess a shape and textures. So as far as there is higher resolution a scene must be detailed higher to at least leave the mind on thinking longer. Maybe that's what just I think?
User avatar
Darkcrafter
 
Joined: 23 Sep 2017
Location: South Russia
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8 64-bit
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby doomfiend » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:26 pm

would it be possible if this shader could ignore HUD weapon sprites via option / separate release? this makes for a good time for that nostalgia trip ;P
User avatar
doomfiend
 
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Location: some where

Re: Low Detail Shader

Postby Rachael » Tue Jul 16, 2019 9:32 pm

Original Doom actually never did this.

Nevertheless, your request was easy enough. So here you go.
Attachments
lowdetail_nohudsprites.pk3
(1.91 KiB) Downloaded 16 times
User avatar
Rachael
Webmaster
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to Shaders

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest