Page 1 of 3

Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:20 am
by Rachael

"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:17 am
by Arctangent
Wow, that screenshot is dreadful in exactly the way it's meant to be.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 10:11 am
by Nash
And with a low-end graphics computer, you can now also relive the days of owning the peasant-tier 286 while trying to run Doom on it! XD

Good stuff Rachael. That pixelated blob of mess looks ugly - and I mean that as a compliment. ;)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 11:41 am
by Tapwave
Rachael delivered, I can now die in peace :P

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 12:50 pm
by Outtagum
Thank you for making this add-on. It's fun to play some modern mods in GZDoom as if it was 1994 again. :)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:57 pm
by drfrag
I think this is pretty cool. BTW i've added a couple of new low detail modes to my engines (3x2 and 4x4) but they are not in the releases yet.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sun Oct 15, 2017 3:27 pm
by Pixel Eater
Now if only pushing F5 played the toggle sound! This is awesome :lol:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2017 8:26 pm
by ZzZombo
You can execute several commands in a key bind, and there is a play sound command... even tho I don't think that particular sound is defined in SNDINFO.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:44 pm
by Pixel Eater
ZzZombo, I tried what you said and it works:

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail; playsound switches/normbutn"
:)

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 12:23 pm
by PixelCrunch
Rachael wrote:
"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false
Sorry if i necro or not, but for me it's not working. I put the code into the Console in QZDOOM 2.1.0, but nothing happens at all. Please help me get it to run, i'm trying to make a true Jaguar Doom TC!

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 3:46 pm
by Rachael
If it doesn't work then your card is probably not supporting shaders.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 4:27 pm
by Enjay
Definitely works in GZDoom 4.1.1 and QZDoom q2.2pre-2589-g231f967d8 for me.

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:09 pm
by Slax
Something is missing. Something... terrible.
Spoiler:

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sat May 11, 2019 9:18 pm
by Rachael
Okay you have fun with that :P

Re: Low Detail Shader

Posted: Sun May 12, 2019 12:10 pm
by PixelCrunch
PixelCrunch wrote:
Rachael wrote:
"Low Detail Shader when?" I get frequently asked. Probably as a joke, who knows...

So - here it is.

Use "gl_lowdetail" cvar in console to turn it on and off.

It emulates the effect of pressing F5 in Vanilla Doom, except it's not resolution aware (it simply pixelates to 160x200) - didn't see any reason to do that, anyway.

You can relive the old vanilla days by typing...

Code: Select all

bind f5 "toggle gl_lowdetail"
... in the console. (Default F5 binding: "menu_display")

Memories best relived with the following cvars also set:

Code: Select all

vid_scalemode 2
gl_tonemap 5
gl_lightmode 8
gl_bandedswlight true
r_vanillatrans 1
gl_lights false
Sorry if i necro or not, but for me it's not working. I put the code into the Console in QZDOOM 2.1.0, but nothing happens at all. Please help me get it to run, i'm trying to make a true Jaguar Doom TC!
I also use GZDOOM 3.7.1 (because my shitty graphics card does not support OpenGL 3.0+), but i'm not sure how i can make that work, as i've never tested it there.