[defunct] Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0+GLES

Projects that have specifically been abandoned or considered "dead" get moved here, so people will quit bumping them. If your project has wound up here and it should not be, contact a moderator to have it moved back to the land of the living.
User avatar
Wally0222
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed Apr 28, 2021 1:18 am
Location: Pantai Remis, Perak, Malaysia

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Wally0222 »

I tried it once and it works great.
By the way, when I picked up an Invulnerability Sphere or any powerups with fixed colormap in GLES renderer, the HUD and menu are also affected and color is same as the powerup effect. Guess I have "color blind mode" when I picked up a powerup with fixed colormap in GLES renderer.
User avatar
BerserkerNoir
Posts: 82
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 10:31 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Veracruz, Mexico

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by BerserkerNoir »

This is great, Intel no longers Crashes when theres an intense usage of effects.
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Redneckerz »

Should i mention the errors i encountered in the seperate thread also here, Emile?
emile_b
Posts: 98
Joined: Sun Sep 22, 2019 7:06 am
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by emile_b »

Redneckerz wrote:Should i mention the errors i encountered in the seperate thread also here, Emile?
Sorry just re-read what you typed, yeah can mentioned them here, I will be more likely to see it
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Redneckerz »

emile_b wrote:
Redneckerz wrote:Should i mention the errors i encountered in the seperate thread also here, Emile?
Sorry just re-read what you typed, yeah can mentioned them here, I will be more likely to see it
Ill recap them here:
EDIT:
Moved to seperate thread, here.
Last edited by Redneckerz on Sat Jun 12, 2021 12:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
vaa44
Posts: 16
Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2021 7:16 am

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by vaa44 »

I noticed this bug. It seems to appear only in the Opengl renderer.
https://youtu.be/suSsk2US4gM
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13102
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Rachael »

Please make a new bug report topic for this. It's really hard to organize things when they appear on news threads.

viewforum.php?f=363
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Redneckerz »

Rachael wrote:Please make a new bug report topic for this. It's really hard to organize things when they appear on news threads.

viewforum.php?f=363
Was this addressed to me or to Vaa44, given the relative amount of time between that post and yours?
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13102
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Rachael »

vaa44
User avatar
Delfino Furioso
Posts: 84
Joined: Sat Mar 27, 2021 3:21 pm

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Delfino Furioso »

hi emile/rachael

I've tried this build with HEXEN.WAD and noticed that some widescreen graphics seem to be missing (the fighter's punching arm, at least)
this does not happen when using the main gzdoom 4.6.0 release

is gles4.6.0 using an old version of nash's WidePix assets?






/edit: nevermind, I've found the reason..

I've recently downloaded the latest build artifact from here
https://github.com/drdteam/gzdoom-gles/ ... /887978752
and used to update my previous gles4.6.0b setup

this replaced the "game_widescreen_gfx.pk3" file with the one that came with the download, which is empty (22 bytes in size)

I'll stick to official github (pre)releases next time ;)
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
Posts: 13102
Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2004 1:31 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Rachael »

The artifacts may not always the most reliable way to get a working build though you are welcome to use them if/when they work.

It appears the CI scripts do not checkout the submodules when building which is why the widescreen archive is empty. Seeing as how we are planning on eliminating the submodule anyhow and integrating the widepix project completely when it is completed, this isn't a pressing concern for us.
User avatar
ClessxAlghazanth
Posts: 159
Joined: Sun Feb 17, 2019 9:29 am

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by ClessxAlghazanth »

Wow , I just tried the latest (4.6.1) gles branch and amazed how fast it performs on my old potato laptop (10 years old) :o

It seems to perform even better than LZDoom in some cases (in which I have framerate drops here and there) , and it runs all the mods I threw at it flawlessly

What kind of wizardry is this ? :D I mean , I can not even run the main GZDoom on my laptop (not meeting the hardware requirements)

I hope this branch gets regular updates , thanks for everyone contributing to this one :wub:

Best regards,
Kamil
Posts: 163
Joined: Sat Sep 21, 2019 12:42 pm
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Kamil »

on 4.6.1 they take a little time to load
on 4.6.0b the loading time is better
User avatar
ReX
Posts: 1561
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2003 10:01 am
Location: Quatto's Palace

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by ReX »

I'm a little late to the party. I downloaded and tried to run GZDooM GLES v4.6.1 (after selecting OpenGL ES in the IWAD selection menu). GZDooM refuses to run, giving me the "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" error.

I tried running GZDooM using a batch file with the following command:

gzdoom -IWAD DooM2 -gles2_renderer

I get the same result.

My system specs are:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.30 GHz
Installed RAM: 8 GB
System Type: 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
GPU: Intel HD 3000
User avatar
Redneckerz
Spotlight Team
Posts: 987
Joined: Mon Nov 25, 2019 8:54 am
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: Experimental release based on GZDoom 4.6.0 and GLES bran

Post by Redneckerz »

ReX wrote:I'm a little late to the party. I downloaded and tried to run GZDooM GLES v4.6.1 (after selecting OpenGL ES in the IWAD selection menu). GZDooM refuses to run, giving me the "R_OPENGL: OpenGL driver not accelerated!" error.

I tried running GZDooM using a batch file with the following command:

gzdoom -IWAD DooM2 -gles2_renderer

I get the same result.

My system specs are:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2410M CPU @ 2.30GHz 2.30 GHz
Installed RAM: 8 GB
System Type: 64-bit operating system, x64-based processor
GPU: Intel HD 3000
Download the latest drivers. However, the HD3000 is a generation older than what i use (HD4600). Runs 60 fps however.

Return to “Abandoned/Dead Projects”