GZDoom 4.5.0 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

[Tap Here for Mobile-Friendly Forums]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby TXTX » Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:25 pm

For some reason my antivirus has a fit with the exe file.
User avatar
TXTX
Insane Feline, Hacking through ZScript
 
Joined: 12 Sep 2013
Location: A Hidden Location

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Enjay » Sat Oct 31, 2020 3:49 pm

FWiW, I get the generic warning from Windows:
"Windows protected your PC
Microsoft Defender SmartScreen prevented an unrecognised app from starting. Running this app might put your PC at risk.
More info"
:roll:

Windows seems to flag anything that it doesn't immediately recognise as potentially unsafe. Some antivirus programs do the same. It takes them while to catch up to newly released files that are not "mainstream".

At least with the Windows thing I can press "more info" and then "Run anyway" and that solves it.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:01 pm

I keep nonsense like Smartscreen disabled. Not only do I not want to let Microsoft know what I run - I also run so many "unknown" executables that it'd only get in the way.
At least this can be disabled. Apple won't allow anything on their Macs they haven't approved themselves by now.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby kevansevans » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:22 pm

I'm a bit curious as to why the widescreen textures weren't packed into game_support.pk3, seems a bit messy making it another optional pk3.
User avatar
kevansevans
Disciple of The Great God Imp
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Github ID: kevansevans
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Caligari87 » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:24 pm

I think it's so they can be toggled at load, similar to the brightmaps and such. As of right now I don't believe there's any mechanism to selectively load or toggle lump replacements ingame. Putting them in game_support would basically make them "always on" which not everyone wants.

8-)
User avatar
Caligari87
I'm just here for the community
User Accounts Assistant
 
Joined: 26 Feb 2004
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Discord: Caligari87#3089

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:27 pm

Precisely that. Like the lights and brightmaps they need to be optional in case some mod does not work with them present (or someone simply prefers 4:3)
Does it really matter? 11 or 12 files hardly makes a difference.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby kevansevans » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:28 pm

Sorry if I made it seem like I was annoyed by this, not my intention. I just imagined something like this would make more sense as an in-game toggle is all. Thanks for the explanation!
User avatar
kevansevans
Disciple of The Great God Imp
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 05 Oct 2010
Github ID: kevansevans
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Apeirogon » Sat Oct 31, 2020 4:51 pm

Graf Zahl wrote:[*]the console now uses the border flat as default background instead of the titlepic.

Option in menu to return it back please!?
Yes, I like to see titlepic as console background image.
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Nash » Sat Oct 31, 2020 5:00 pm

I'm getting reports that the "Downloads" page still lists 4.4.2 as the latest version.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Github ID: nashmuhandes

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby SPZ1 » Sat Oct 31, 2020 8:54 pm

the console now uses the border flat as default background instead of the titlepic.


Is there a way around this? The 'MAPINFO/GameInfo/TitlePage' property is now useless! Changing a texture name to 'GRNROCK' also does not work. :(
User avatar
SPZ1
 
Joined: 02 Aug 2017
Location: Illinois

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Enjay » Sat Oct 31, 2020 10:05 pm

Creating a copy of the TITLEPIC called CONBACK should do it because CONBACK is still supported.
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sat Oct 31, 2020 11:42 pm

Nash wrote:I'm getting reports that the "Downloads" page still lists 4.4.2 as the latest version.



Yes, but the macOS and LInux versions haven't been done yet, it's just that lone Windows version right now.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby _mental_ » Sun Nov 01, 2020 1:49 am

All three platforms are in place now.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Gez » Sun Nov 01, 2020 3:58 am

SPZ1 wrote:Is there a way around this? The 'MAPINFO/GameInfo/TitlePage' property is now useless!

There's a reason it's called TitlePage and not ConsoleBackgroundPage...

SPZ1 wrote:Changing a texture name to 'GRNROCK' also does not work. :(

That's the BorderFlat property.

And yeah for anyone who wants to see the titlescreen as a console background, you can do that by autoloading a small mod containing a TEXTURES lump with this single line:
Code: Select allExpand view
remap CONBACK TITLEPIC


Not tested but I think it'd work.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoom 4.5.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Nov 01, 2020 4:34 am

Not quite. As console background it got darkened to 30%.
The change was made to ensure better readability. With unpredictable titlepics this is not possible.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

PreviousNext

Return to ZDoom (and related) News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests