GZDoom 4.4.0 released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

[Tap Here for Mobile-Friendly Forums]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby _mental_ » Sun Jun 07, 2020 1:47 pm

Kamil wrote:My PC - Intel G3220 and NVIDIA GTX 750 TI 2GB + 8 GB RAM

It’s not enough then. Vulkan backend cannot use regular RAM when video memory is exhausted. If you really need this behavior, switch to OpenGL.
_mental_
 
 
 
Joined: 07 Aug 2011

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby drfrag » Sun Jun 07, 2020 1:50 pm

Yeah, i see there are two kind of errors with PB 3.0 now "could not malloc xxx bytes" and "could not create graphics pipeline: out of device memory". It's a mod bug? I commented it in the LZDoom thread. I could create a technical issue thread but PB 3.0 requires 4.3 (unofficially since it's a broken mod) and i can't compare with older versions.
Edit: with OpenGL you get the other error.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 07, 2020 1:54 pm

What eats this much RAM in that mod? Does it some insanely large textures or some shenanigans with TEXTURES that create excessively many hardware textures?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby drfrag » Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:12 pm

The mod is big sure but i think it creates a lot of actors and LZDoom doesn't crash (after a while) becouse it requires less ram.
User avatar
drfrag
Os voy a romper a pedazos!
Vintage GZDoom Developer
 
Joined: 23 Apr 2004
Location: Spain
Discord: drfrag#3555
Github ID: drfrag666

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Kamil » Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:54 pm

I used OpenGL now and got the error again. But I could play quietly for a long time
https://www.dropbox.com/s/4wcjg5w2w45ma ... t.zip?dl=0
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Tapwave » Sun Jun 07, 2020 2:54 pm

enabled CVAR descriptions.

Will those need translations as well?
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Jun 07, 2020 3:01 pm

It's not planned. First, only a small subset of CVARS - those which had corresponding ones with descriptions in EDuke32 are covered right now and generally it was once decided that the console doesn't need translation.

Of course, if someone wants to do the maintenance work, i.e. export the texts to the spreadsheet, be my guest. Enabling translated output for these texts would mean changing one line of code so that won't be the problem here - that'd be getting the texts done and adding descriptions to more of the existing CVARs.
.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby wildweasel » Sun Jun 07, 2020 3:48 pm

Kamil wrote:My PC - Intel G3220 and NVIDIA GTX 750 TI 2GB + 8 GB RAM

In addition to what's been said about Vulkan not being able to fall back on system RAM when it runs out of VRAM, check to make sure you don't have any texture resizing or multisampling enabled, because those are very expensive features as far as VRAM usage goes.
User avatar
wildweasel
change o' pace.
Moderator Team Lead
 
Joined: 16 Jul 2003

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Kamil » Sun Jun 07, 2020 3:49 pm

I have disabled these features. Now I use only Open GL
Kamil
 
Joined: 21 Sep 2019
Discord: @Kamil#8122
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby TheBeardedJedi » Sun Jun 07, 2020 8:21 pm

I noticed that hires texture packs (such as Hoover's) no longer work with this update. Is that intentional?
User avatar
TheBeardedJedi
 
Joined: 29 Mar 2013

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby mjr4077au » Sun Jun 07, 2020 9:12 pm

TheBeardedJedi wrote:I noticed that hires texture packs (such as Hoover's) no longer work with this update. Is that intentional?

If it's a Doomsday Engine style upscale pack, then yes. viewtopic.php?f=4&t=68077&p=1144983
User avatar
mjr4077au
 
Joined: 17 Jun 2019
Location: Gosford NSW, Australia
Discord: mjr4077au#1027
Github ID: mjr4077au
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Grizzly » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:50 am

Default mouselook on but also vanilla doom keyboard defaults? Madness :D
User avatar
Grizzly
 
Joined: 06 Sep 2018

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Graf Zahl » Mon Jun 08, 2020 1:51 am

The control presets haven't made it in yet, although the feature is theoretically working.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Redneckerz » Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:07 am

Given the amount of reports, it seems that (because of the 5 month bridging period) GZDoom 4.4.0 changes enough stuff , and perhaps users/authors relied upon on 4.3.3 in ways that weren't supposed to happen.

I mean, that's on them really, i just wanted to note that the amount of reports seem unusually high and aren't just ''Hey this does not work'' - But flat out entire mods turn up broken.

I dunno. It just seems strange. I just wanted to point this out, perhaps it is expected behavior, perhaps someone else feels the same. :)
User avatar
Redneckerz
To it's ports i may have seen
Spotlight Team
 
Joined: 25 Nov 2019
Discord: Redneckerz#8399
Operating System: Windows Vista/7/2008 64-bit
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Legacy GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.4.0 released

Postby Tapwave » Mon Jun 08, 2020 2:18 am

Graf Zahl wrote:It's not planned. First, only a small subset of CVARS - those which had corresponding ones with descriptions in EDuke32 are covered right now and generally it was once decided that the console doesn't need translation.

Of course, if someone wants to do the maintenance work, i.e. export the texts to the spreadsheet, be my guest. Enabling translated output for these texts would mean changing one line of code so that won't be the problem here - that'd be getting the texts done and adding descriptions to more of the existing CVARs.
.

That's something I'm very eager to work on, so I'll see if I can ask anyone for that :D
User avatar
Tapwave
On the GREEN!
 
Joined: 20 Aug 2011
Discord: Sunray#7070
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to ZDoom (and related) News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests