GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

News about ZDoom, its child ports, or any closely related projects.
[ZDoom Home] [Documentation (Wiki)] [Official News] [Downloads] [Discord]
[🔎 Google This Site]

[Tap Here for Mobile-Friendly Forums]

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby phantombeta » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:09 am

Graf Zahl wrote:
phantombeta wrote:That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.



Has it changed for the option menus, too?
There was a change for the non-options menus because on certain screen sizes the content became too small. So I chamged the reference width (i.e. what is needed to show all content) from 640 to 400 pixels. With a few tweaks to the skill and episode names that's what is minimally needed to show everything properly.

Yup.
Commit 8dc7190f and earlier:

Commit f2d1126f and later:


I have the feeling this should be addressed, as it'll very likely be an issue with the compatibility options menu in non-English languages.
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Apeirogon » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:26 am

Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.

Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo

So, since most/all of previously global variables now/in near future become more "specific" this means that mod which use them in old form will break in future versions of gzdoom?! Or this restructuring touch only internal, compiled tables, not zscript?
User avatar
Apeirogon
I have a strange sense of humour
 
Joined: 12 Jun 2017

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Enjay » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:27 am

phantombeta wrote:pictures


It's obviously resolution dependent because it looks perfectly sized at 1920x1200.

User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
 
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Rachael » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:28 am

Apeirogon wrote:
Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.

Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo

So, since most/all of previously global variables now/in near future become more "specific" this means that mod which use them in old form will break in future versions of gzdoom?! Or this restructuring touch only internal, compiled tables, not zscript?


For now, it's only internal. It's meant to make the level loading system a lot more flexible and possibly allow for expansion of how GZDoom handles levels.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby phantombeta » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:30 am

Enjay wrote:
phantombeta wrote:pictures


It's obviously resolution dependent because it looks perfectly sized at 1920x1200.


Indeed:
phantombeta wrote:That's mostly with the smaller resolutions, for some weird reason. With the higher resolutions, there's actually more space. This was true for smaller resolutions before in the dev builds, and I have no idea why this was changed.

It seems to only mess up on smaller resolutions.
User avatar
phantombeta
Tired of being treated like trash by control freaks
 
Joined: 02 May 2013

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:32 am

This is definitely a bug. When changing this code I forgot to adjust one variable use.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Rachael » Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:22 am

I added more things to the release notes but I have to take a break now. I'll finish more of it later.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Gez » Sun Apr 07, 2019 6:53 am

Apeirogon wrote:
Internal code restructuring to agnostisize level structures.

Huh? Philosophical debates in source code of game from 1993? I get that this is typo


Making things something-agnostic is not about philosophy but about software design in this case.

The aim was to make GZDoom able to load several levels at once, which means that level structures have to be self-contained and to stop relying so much on global variables. The objective is still far from being reached but there's progress.
Gez
 
 
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Rip and Tear » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:15 am

exported all native components of APlayerPawn.

Does this mean that extending Actor will be coming soon? I believe Graf said that was the last thing blocking it.
User avatar
Rip and Tear
I <3 ZScript
 
Joined: 02 May 2017
Operating System: Mac OS X 10.8 or later
Graphics Processor: Intel (Modern GZDoom)

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 07, 2019 9:23 am

There's one thing blocking it: Currently each translation unit (i.e. each ZSCRIPT lump) creates an implicit namespace for its constants. For allowing class extensions everything must be in the same translation unit so here's a conflict of requirements that needs to be resolved first. Unfortunately I haven't had a good idea yet.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Armaetus » Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:21 am

Oh nice, a new version!

Someone on the unofficial Oblige Discord brought up this, the last skill level is meant to be a secret skill level and the user is using British English. It was meant to be hidden with just American English. Mod oversight or port oversight?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Armaetus
RDND, Maps of Chaos and Obsidian Dev
 
Joined: 13 Mar 2009
Location: New York State
Discord: Armaetus#8512
Github ID: GlaiceOldSchoolRTS
Operating System: Windows 10/8.1/8/201x 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan Support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:34 am

Glaice wrote:Oh nice, a new version!

Someone on the unofficial Oblige Discord brought up this, the last skill level is meant to be a secret skill level and the user is using British English. It was meant to be hidden with just American English. Mod oversight or port oversight?



Hard to tell without the mod.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Rachael » Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:52 am

So I may have underestimated how long the changelog would be this time around. But it's done. Please note that it's in two posts. It ended up exceeding the 60,000 character limit.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Graf Zahl » Sun Apr 07, 2019 11:53 am

I think this could have been shortened a lot just by omitting the follow-up fixes of all the refactorings that took place.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
 
Joined: 19 Jul 2003
Location: Germany

Re: GZDoom 4.0.0 Released

Postby Rachael » Sun Apr 07, 2019 12:04 pm

Maybe - but with a lot of what was there it was hard to tell some of them apart. For what it's worth I used this command to get the full log:
Code: Select allExpand view
git log g3.7.0..g.4.0.0 > release-notes-4.0.txt


There's no diff in the output... and to be honest it would be a lot harder to process if there was.
User avatar
Rachael
Admin
 
Joined: 13 Jan 2004
Discord: Rachael#3767
Twitch ID: madamerachelle
Github ID: madame-rachelle
Operating System: Debian-like Linux (Debian, Ubuntu, Mint, etc) 64-bit
OS Test Version: No (Using Stable Public Version)
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

PreviousNext

Return to ZDoom (and related) News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest