Disable running?

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Disable running?

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

How do I go about disabling the player's ability to run? I tried the following, but it didn't make any difference.

Code: Select all

Speed 0.75
Player.ForwardMove 1, 1
I tried using 1.0, I tried without a comma, no change.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by Project Shadowcat »

You could disable the ability to run by using that minimum health thing and cranking it to a value that you cannot normally achieve. I've unfortunately forgotten the words, let me find it.

EDIT: Player.RunHealth value
User avatar
Snarboo
Posts: 2599
Joined: Tue Nov 29, 2005 4:37 am

Re: Disable running?

Post by Snarboo »

PDF beat me to it, but I'm curious now if setting the run speed to half the walk speed would have any effect. More than likely ZDoom would just spit out an error. :p
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by Xaser »

Actually, at least one mod (Project MSX) does just that to turn the "walk" button into a "sprint" button, since the assumption is that almost everyone plays with "Always Run" on.

Granted, I find it irritating, and Runhealth is one of those properties that I'd love to see "accidentally" vanish from the engine. Hopefully Mouse is using it for good, not evil (something like, say, limiting the player to only one speed in GShmup without actually changing the value would be fine, I suppose). If that's possible. :P
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Xaser wrote:limiting the player to only one speed in GShmup
That's precisely what I'm using it for.
User avatar
Sarah
Posts: 551
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 12:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: She/Her
Operating System Version (Optional): Debian 11 (bullseye), Windows 10
Location: Middle of Nowheresville Il.
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by Sarah »

I've done this before only to undo it later. Player.ForwardMove set the first value to the walking speed and the second to running. The default values are 1 and 1, however the run value is doubled so it's actually 2, meaning you run twice what you walk. Setting the values to 1 and 0.5 will work.

Word of caution though, I had an issue with the player bob doing the run bob all the time. I'm not sure if it was because "always run" was on or not, but I think the only option I had was to change the values in the .ini to make it stop being so crazy.
User avatar
Project Shadowcat
Posts: 9369
Joined: Thu Jul 14, 2005 8:33 pm
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: Blacksburg, SC USA
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by Project Shadowcat »

Considering she's doing it for a topdown shooter, this won't be a problem.
User avatar
LilWhiteMouse
Posts: 2270
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 7:00 pm
Location: Maine, US
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by LilWhiteMouse »

Nero wrote:Setting the values to 1 and 0.5 will work.
I'm sticking to the Player.RunHealth trick because even using "Player.ForwardMove 1.0 0.5", the player still moves noticeably faster when running.
User avatar
chopkinsca
Posts: 1325
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:03 pm

Re: Disable running?

Post by chopkinsca »

Have a script that keeps checking the player's X and Y coordinates. Calculate if they are moving far enough each tic to be running, thing_destroy the player and hudmessage a "no run for you!"
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17833
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: Disable running?

Post by Gez »

Yeah, that'd be super-obnoxious to all players out there who have cl_run true. I don't think LWM's aim is to have people start playing, stare at the screen in disbelief as they instadie, quit, and delete the mod without ever giving it a second look.
User avatar
FDARI
Posts: 1097
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 9:19 am

Re: Disable running?

Post by FDARI »

Chopkinsca: She wants to disable running, not kill them. (A feasible approach is already presented in this thread, so the less feasible suggestion is probably a joke.)
User avatar
Xaser
 
 
Posts: 10772
Joined: Sun Jul 20, 2003 12:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Disable running?

Post by Xaser »

Indeed. I almost feel the need to call in a sarcasm detector repair specialist. :P
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Disable running?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Some people really need to learn reading before posting their nonsense...
User avatar
chopkinsca
Posts: 1325
Joined: Thu Dec 11, 2003 5:03 pm

Re: Disable running?

Post by chopkinsca »

FDARI wrote: so the less feasible suggestion is probably a joke
Indeed it was. :D
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: Disable running?

Post by Graf Zahl »

Easy to say afterward... :mrgreen:
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”