Changing the color of solid blood decals

Moderator: GZDoom Developers

Yardstick
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 am

Changing the color of solid blood decals

Post by Yardstick »

The request is simple. I'd like Zdoom to extend the functionality of "BloodColor" to SOLID blood decals as well.

Currently BloodColor does only affect non-solid (shaded) blood decals.

Image

Code: Select all

ACTOR Cacodemon2 : Cacodemon replaces Cacodemon
{
      BloodColor blue
}
I *assumed* that ZDoom is perfectly able to swap the RGB values for bludc0 (the blood sprite enemies spurt when hurt, see the picture) so I thought it could be possible to change the color of solid decals using this method.

Implementing a new actor property similar to "decal" would be equally useful for me, although I'd have to paint the decals myself and then create the corresponding entries in decaldef.

Any chance for this?.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

No. This is precisely what the BloodType parameter was added for.
Yardstick
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 am

Post by Yardstick »

I can't seem to get it working, not sure if I'm doing something wrong. Would "development version only" have something to do with it?.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Blood decals are shaded for a very good reason (i.e. the ability to colorize them.) If you make them have their own color you defeat that mechanism. Sorry, this won't change.
User avatar
HotWax
Posts: 10002
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2003 6:18 pm
Location: Idaho Falls, ID

Post by HotWax »

Yardstick wrote:I can't seem to get it working, not sure if I'm doing something wrong. Would "development version only" have something to do with it?.
It should be in the 2.1.8 release.

Also, it wasn't clear to me whether you were talking about decals (the graphics that appear on walls) or sprites (the actors spawned in front of the enemy you shot, as indicated in your screenshot). If you just want to colorize the blood decals, I believe bloodcolor does that.
Yardstick
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 am

Post by Yardstick »

Graf Zahl wrote:Blood decals are shaded for a very good reason (i.e. the ability to colorize them.) If you make them have their own color you defeat that mechanism. Sorry, this won't change.
Can you explain how Zdoom changes the color for blood sprites (like the blue ones in the image) when BloodColor is used?.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

It creates a translation table for each blood color and uses that the same way as a normal DECORATE translation or an ACS translation
Lemonzest
Posts: 327
Joined: Tue Oct 12, 2004 3:19 pm
Location: On your boards, trolling your threads!!!

Post by Lemonzest »

Yes this is very good, using nash's blood colour wad and love seeing green/blue blood all over the walls :D
User avatar
Ultraviolet
Posts: 1152
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 9:08 pm
Location: PROJECT DETAILS CLASSIFIED.

Post by Ultraviolet »

Where can I get Nash's blood color wad?
Yardstick
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 am

Post by Yardstick »

Code: Select all

// Enemy-based Blood Color -------------------------------------------------

ACTOR Cacodemon2 : Cacodemon replaces Cacodemon
{
      BloodColor blue
}

ACTOR BaronOfHell2 : BaronOfHell replaces BaronOfHell
{
      BloodColor green
}

ACTOR HellKnight2 : HellKnight replaces HellKnight
{
      BloodColor green
}
I don't know what Nash's blood wad does, but you could try putting the above in zdoom.pk3\actors\doom\doomdecorations.txt if all you want to see is green and blue blood painting the walls.
User avatar
Zippy
Posts: 3302
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2005 5:31 pm
Location: New Jersey

Post by Zippy »

Or... you know... you could just put it in a DECORATE.txt file and load that on the command line, instead of editing zdoom.pk3.
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Post by Graf Zahl »

Warning: If you change zdoom.pk3 you lose all warranty and any bug report where such a file is used will be discarded on sight.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Post by Nash »

Yardstick
Posts: 54
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 10:11 am

Post by Yardstick »

Now that GZDoom has been updated to the latest Zdoom code, can I expect "bloodtype" to work there or I'll have to wait for a new Zdoom release?. The changelog doesn't tell much about it.
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Post by Nash »

Of course it'll work. GZDoom 1.0.22 is based on the unreleased WIP ZDoom code.
Post Reply

Return to “Closed Feature Suggestions [GZDoom]”