Page 1 of 1

[2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 9:42 am
by Guest
When starting zdoom the selection window shows up, I select the doom.wad, then these errors spew and that's it.
This is on the latest stable/official version as well as latest revision on the SVN, I get "Script error"s when trying to load Doom (The Ultimate Doom and also the Doom 1 demo) or Doom 2.
I can't say if an earlier version works, since this is my first time installing ZDoom.

Chocolate Doom and prBoom load the WADs just fine. GZDoom also errors.

Here's the output I get:
[code]ZDoom v2.6.999 - SVN revision 0 - SDL version
Compiled on Mar 31 2013
Using video driver x11

M_LoadDefaults: Load system defaults.
Gameinfo scan took 0 ms
W_Init: Init WADfiles.
adding /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3, 560 lumps
adding /home/z33ky/.config/zdoom/doom.wad, 2306 lumps
I_Init: Setting up machine state.
CPU Vendor ID: GenuineIntel
Name: Intel(R) Core(TM) i3 CPU M 330 @ 2.13GHz
Family 6, Model 37, Stepping 2
Features: MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSSE3 SSE4.1 SSE4.2
I_InitSound: Initializing FMOD
FMOD Sound System, copyright � Firelight Technologies Pty, Ltd., 1994-2009.
Loaded FMOD version 4.26.36
HOSS could not be initialized. Trying ALSA.
V_Init: allocate screen.
S_Init: Setting up sound.
ST_Init: Init startup screen.
Checking cmd-line parameters...
S_InitData: Load sound definitions.
G_ParseMapInfo: Load map definitions.
GScript error, "zdoom.pk3:mapinfo/doom1.txt" line 54:
GUnknown property 'sucktime' found in map definition

GScript error, "zdoom.pk3:mapinfo/doom1.txt" line 59:
GUnknown property 'levelnum' found in map definition

GScript error, "zdoom.pk3:mapinfo/doom1.txt" line 60:
GUnknown property 'titlepatch' found in map definition[/code]
This is followed by lots of more errors, finishing with
[code]Texman.Init: Init texture manager.
ParseTeamInfo: Load team definitions.
LoadActors: Load actor definitions.
Script error, "zdoom.pk3:actors/constants.txt" line 348:
Unknown native variable 'testglobalvar'[/code]

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:41 am
by Blzut3
I assume you are compiling ZDoom yourself? Try deleting your zdoom.pk3 and forcing it to be rebuilt. Check that you're updating your copy of zdoom.pk3 at /usr/share/games/zdoom/ as well.

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 10:57 am
by z33ky
The OP was from me. I thought after completing the registration it would automatically log me on.

Anyways, yes I am compiling myself and

Code: Select all

$ rm zdoom.pk3;make;diff -s zdoom.pk3 /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3
Files zdoom.pk3 and /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3 are identical

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:08 am
by Gez
Archie Grimhall wrote:When starting zdoom the selection window shows up, I select the doom.wad, then these errors spew and that's it.
This is on the latest stable/official version as well as latest revision on the SVN, I get "Script error"s when trying to load Doom (The Ultimate Doom and also the Doom 1 demo) or Doom 2.
I can't say if an earlier version works, since this is my first time installing ZDoom.

Chocolate Doom and prBoom load the WADs just fine. GZDoom also errors.

Here's the output I get:

Code: Select all

ZDoom v2.6.999 - SVN revision 0 - SDL version
You shouldn't get revision 0 here, but the actual revision number (e.g., 4207). Something is misconfigured in your compilation setup.

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 11:16 am
by z33ky
Gez wrote:You shouldn't get revision 0 here, but the actual revision number (e.g., 4207). Something is misconfigured in your compilation setup.
The file svnrevision.h says "This file was automatically generated by the updaterevision tool.".
The local copy of the source was created via svn checkout and build with cmake and make (more precisely, I use a PKGBUILD from the AUR https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/zdoom-svn) - the updaterevision tool was never touched.

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:11 pm
by Blzut3
Weird. Here's the pk3 from my working build of r4207. I could send you a binary as well to try if you want, but I'll need to know 32 or 64 bit.

Edit: Regarding updaterevision. It looks like the build script exports the svn repository to another directory before building. It should just mkdir a build directory in the check out and then `cmake ..`.

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:17 pm
by z33ky
Interesting.

Code: Select all

$ diff Downloads/zdoom.pk3 /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3 
Binary files Downloads/zdoom.pk3 and /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3 differ
# mv Downloads/zdoom.pk3 /usr/share/games/zdoom
# chown root:root /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3
# chmod 644 /usr/share/games/zdoom/zdoom.pk3
$ zdoom
But I still get the same errors.

(I downloaded it again to check that something spiffy didn't happen, but the files are now identical.)

I'm on x86_64.

Re: [2.6.1/r4207] Script error on load with official WAD

Posted: Sun Mar 31, 2013 12:40 pm
by z33ky
I found the culprit: LTO.
Works fine when compiled without that. Sorry.