Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:01 pm

I'm using linux for a while and wanted a new version of zdoom, it works but i can't do anything at all.
Perhaps i should stick with the old version 2.2.0?
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Project Dark Fox » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:02 pm

If you're using Linux I think you should be compiling it FOR Linux so that it works natively. :| Aren't their instructions for it somewhere on the wiki...?
User avatar
Project Dark Fox
Nightmare Fuel Station Attendant
 
Joined: 14 Jul 2005
Location: The Gutter

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Gez » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:19 pm

Randy develops ZDoom half on Windows and half on Linux. Blzut uses Linux exclusively. We have also a lot of Linux users in this community; some are even maintaining ZDoom installation packages. And, lastly, there's a stickied "Official ZDoom on Linux thread".

So, why do you want to use WINE?
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Demolisher » Sat Mar 12, 2011 4:21 pm

I used GZDoom in wine, worked fine. It would be VERY helpful if you state exactly what "it works but i can't do anything at all" means.
User avatar
Demolisher
Beta 4 will never be released.
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Oxford, MI

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:17 pm

it means i can't move my player, can't enter console commands or enter title screen.
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Demolisher » Sat Mar 12, 2011 5:33 pm

Ok, so the title screen never comes up? can you get to the menu? Specifically, is it just that no keyboard or mouse movements are being recognized?
User avatar
Demolisher
Beta 4 will never be released.
 
Joined: 11 Aug 2008
Location: Oxford, MI

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:40 pm

Yep
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby NeuralStunner » Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:42 pm

Blaskowitz wrote:Yep
To which question? All three? :|
User avatar
NeuralStunner
O'Neill with it.
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2009
Location: Secret Magnet Testing Facility

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 7:58 pm

NeuralStunner wrote:
Blaskowitz wrote:Yep
To which question? All three? :|

yes.
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Enjay » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:26 pm

Huh?

Q: The title screen never comes up?
A: Yes, it never comes up.

Q: Can you get to the menu?
A: Yes, I can get to the menu.

Q: Specifically, is it just that no keyboard or mouse movements are being recognized?
A: Yes, no keyboard or mouse movements are being recognized.

Is that really what you are trying to say?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Sodaholic » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:30 pm

I assume you wish to run ZDoom in wine for one or both of these reasons: you want 32-bit graphics in software, or you're lazy. :P
Am I correct?
Sodaholic
Banned User
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby randi » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:48 pm

Gez wrote:Randy develops ZDoom half on Windows and half on Linux.

More like 90% on Windows and 10% on Linux. I much prefer Developer Studio over anything I've run across in Linux. Whenever I think about doing something major with Linux like an OpenGL version of the Direct3D code, I think about how much it will suck without Developer Studio, and I stop right there. (I use my Linux machine mostly for leaning Japanese, rather than programming, these days.)

Anyway, your problem is probably because Wine has RawInput stubs that return success even though they do nothing. If they would return a failure, there would be no problem. Add +norawinput 1 to your command line once (it will be saved to your config), and it won't try to use the RawInput functions.
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
 
Joined: 09 Jul 2003

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:53 pm

I am using Open Suse and it could let me open non-exe files into text so i'll do that. Thanks. (would someone mind locking it, just in case... :glare: )

EDIT: err how do you go to wine command and how does it look like?
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby wildweasel » Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:13 pm

Blaskowitz wrote:(would someone mind locking it, just in case... :glare: )

Just in case of what? Are you afraid people will insult you? This is a perfectly legit question, and people seem willing to give you assistance.
User avatar
wildweasel
shinier. toastier.
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: amurrika. *fires a shotgun into the air*

Re: Zdoom 2.5.0 won't work on wine

Postby Blaskowitz » Sat Mar 12, 2011 9:14 pm

Whoa i need help finding that console command.
User avatar
Blaskowitz
Adun, save me...!
Banned User
 
Joined: 21 Dec 2009
Location: On planet Char

Next

Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], Mazintosh and 4 guests