Using the jdoom music packs with zdoom

Discuss anything ZDoom-related that doesn't fall into one of the other categories.

Using the jdoom music packs with zdoom

Postby akira » Wed Jul 18, 2007 9:23 am

I can't seem to get the jdoom music packs such as dj_redlight_doom_remixes.pk3.zip to work with zdoom. I managed to get the hi-res jdoom texture pack working fine simply by copying them to zdoom/textures. Any ideas?
User avatar
akira
^_^Maburaho_pwnz^_^
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Wed Jul 18, 2007 1:14 pm

There's two ways, I think you can do this:
1) Does your music have a MAPINFO? You'll need MAPINFO to play a certain type of music (if you have the music file has a different name than Doom 2) you want for a level.

2) Try renaming your jdoom music files to the same as Doom2 music names.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Postby akira » Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:12 pm

All the tunes are mp3, and are all named "MAP01" etc (and "e1m1 for ultimate doom tracks.) They are in the folder zdoom/music... should I rename the folder?
User avatar
akira
^_^Maburaho_pwnz^_^
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby KeksDose » Wed Jul 18, 2007 2:36 pm

WRONG! You create a WAD file, with all songs in it. Then you rename all the files to fit the old midi music.
User avatar
KeksDose
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007

Postby akira » Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:13 pm

Ok call me a n00b but... what program can I use to create a wad (I'm more of a player than an editor :P)
User avatar
akira
^_^Maburaho_pwnz^_^
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby Unknown_Assassin » Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:13 pm

akira wrote:All the tunes are mp3, and are all named "MAP01" etc (and "e1m1 for ultimate doom tracks.) They are in the folder zdoom/music... should I rename the folder?


That's not the name of them. D_E1M1 (an example for Ultimate Doom) and D_RUNNIN (for Doom 2). Look in the iwad.
User avatar
Unknown_Assassin
Bow down to the Protoss Race!!
 
Joined: 12 Apr 2006
Location: Where dead carcasses lie

Postby KeksDose » Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:31 pm

akira wrote:Ok call me a n00b but... what program can I use to create a wad (I'm more of a player than an editor :P)


I do NOT call you a n00b, just to clarify that :razz: You can use XWE and SlumpEd to do this.
User avatar
KeksDose
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007

Postby Zippy » Wed Jul 18, 2007 5:31 pm

You don't have to do it with a wad. It's a better idea to do it with a pk3 (zip) file anyway, because it will compress the files. Also, no need for SLumpEd or XWE. See the wiki: Using_ZIPs_as_WAD_replacement

It's possible to do it without renaming the files if you use MAPINFO to explicitly assign the music to maps, but that's your call. If you're just trying to replace the original music, it's sufficient to just rename things.
User avatar
Zippy
Scathing political commentary!
 
Joined: 23 Mar 2005
Location: Rochester

Postby akira » Thu Jul 19, 2007 2:36 am

I'll try Zippy's idea- XWE didn't like mp3 tracks- it said "unknown file format".
User avatar
akira
^_^Maburaho_pwnz^_^
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006

Postby KeksDose » Thu Jul 19, 2007 4:16 am

That's normal, this happens to me, too.
User avatar
KeksDose
 
Joined: 05 Jul 2007

Postby akira » Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:23 am

Ok- I have zipped the files and everything now works perfectly. Thanks for all your help- much appreciated!
User avatar
akira
^_^Maburaho_pwnz^_^
 
Joined: 25 Oct 2006


Return to General

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest