The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Handy guides on how to do things, written by users for users.

Moderators: GZDoom Developers, Raze Developers

Forum rules
Please don't start threads here asking for help. This forum is not for requesting guides, only for posting them. If you need help, the Editing forum is for you.
Jakester897
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:36 pm

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Jakester897 »

I'm having a similar problem to the people above. When I use the "make" command, this happens:

[ 3%] Built target lzma
[ 4%] Built target lemon
[ 6%] Built target re2c
[ 6%] Built target updaterevision
[ 7%] Built target zipdir
[ 16%] Built target gme
[ 30%] Built target dumb
[ 30%] Built target arithchk
[ 30%] Built target qnan
[ 38%] Built target gdtoa
[ 38%] Built target pk3
src/svnrevision.h is up to date at revision 3710.
[ 38%] Built target revision_check
Linking CXX executable ../zdoom
/usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/local/lib/libfmodex-4.26.36.so when searching for -lfmodex-4.26.36
/usr/bin/ld: skipping incompatible /usr/local/lib/libfmodex-4.26.36.so when searching for -lfmodex-4.26.36
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lfmodex-4.26.36
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [zdoom] Error 1
make[1]: *** [src/CMakeFiles/zdoom.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2

It seems to have trouble making the zdoom.exe file, and when I look in the trunk directory, there's no .pk3 file, either.
This is my second try, if that information helps. I still got the same error before.
Also, I'm using Ubuntu version 12.04.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

Which distro? 32 bit or 64 bit?
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Contact:

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

It looks like he has 64-bit Ubuntu installed and is trying to link against the 32-bit libfmodex. Try the 64-bit version of fmod.
Jakester897
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2012 5:36 pm

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Jakester897 »

Oh, my. It actually is 64 bit. That explains a lot, really. Wow, now I feel dumb.
Okay, I'm going to try it.

Edit: I have the game working perfectly. However, the screen is blocked by Unity's sidebar, and the top with the info bar. This is more of an Ubuntu problem, though, so I've been helped as much as I could have been. Thanks, and happy Dooming.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

it seems like cmake isn't aware of the changes inside the files in wadsrc* folder, ie doesn't update the pk3 file with the changes. As a workaround I remove the pk3 file before rebuilding everything, but that's a bad imposition imho...

I wonder if it's wadsrc/CMakeList.txt fault or not... should I make a new bug report?
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by randi »

Only if you have a fix to go with it. it's supposed to unconditionally run zipdir, but for whatever reason that doesn't happen.
afullo

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by afullo »

Is there a way to update to 2.6.0 on Linux? ;)

I already had a version of the 2.5.9999 r# family compiled and installed, some minutes ago I tried svn update as proposed here, but recompiling just gave me a newer version of that series, specifically 2.5.9999 r3732. :(

Thanks in advance. :)
Blzut3
 
 
Posts: 3144
Joined: Wed Nov 24, 2004 12:59 pm
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Contact:

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Blzut3 »

the trunk is still labelled 2.5.9999, but it is equivalent to 2.6.0. If you really want to build 2.6.0:

Code: Select all

svn switch http://mancubus.net/svn/hosted/zdoom/zdoom/tags/2.6.0/
niculinux
Posts: 138
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2012 11:52 am
Location: Italy

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by niculinux »

Hello.

Since I'm a new and very newbie linux user, I was just wandering:

Is there any linux distrubution which has in its own repositories zdoom and/or gzdoom already packed? Maybe anyone knows? :?

Thanks.
Gez
 
 
Posts: 17835
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:22 pm

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Gez »

niculinux wrote:Is there any linux distrubution which has in its own repositories zdoom and/or gzdoom already packed? Maybe anyone knows? :?
I don't think so; ZDoom contains code under a non-commercial [wiki]license[/wiki] (Build and the MAME OPL emulator mostly).

However, there is this for Debian.
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2706
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Hellser »

While trying to compile ZDooM on Debian (On a Virtual Machine), I get this:
Spoiler:
Yes, I also even did a svn checkout, and I cleared out the release folder and redid the "cmake -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release .."

For any other info, it's Debian 6.0.2 64-Bit running on VirtualBox.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

just a guess: what happens if you change the "ZDooM SVN" folder name with, for example, "ZdooM_SVN" and retry to compile?
User avatar
Hellser
Global Moderator
Posts: 2706
Joined: Sun Jun 25, 2006 4:43 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: ATI/AMD with Vulkan/Metal Support
Location: Citadel Station

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Hellser »

Edward-san wrote:just a guess: what happens if you change the "ZDooM SVN" folder name with, for example, "ZdooM_SVN" and retry to compile?
Seems to work fine, that should be added to the Wiki -- don't use spaces, Linux doesn't like it.
Edward-san
Posts: 1774
Joined: Sat Oct 17, 2009 9:40 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by Edward-san »

probably it's the assembler's fault that didn't parse correctly the path to the file object... who knows.
zdoomer
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jun 22, 2012 3:11 am

Re: The official "ZDoom on Linux" thread.

Post by zdoomer »

Hi, im trying to compile zdoom on linux, and i got it compiled, but i have no sound. I´m a newbie do i have to copy any special file next to the zdoom executable? In the compile instructions they mention copying to /usr/local, when installing fmodex, but i have it without installing it. And, is there a way to make zdoom write its config files, find WADs, and any needed libs to /opt/zdoom instead of $HOME/.zdoom, $DOOMWADDIR, or /usr/local/share?
Post Reply

Return to “Tutorials”