[Resource] ACS Footstep

Sprites, textures, sounds, code, and other resources belong here. Share and share-alike!
Forum rules
Before posting your Resource, please make sure you can answer YES to any of the following questions:
  • Is the resource ENTIRELY my own work?
  • If no to the previous one, do I have permission from the original author?
  • If no to the previous one, did I put a reasonable amount of work into the resource myself, such that the changes are noticeably different from the source that I could take credit for them?
If you answered no to all three, maybe you should consider taking your stuff somewhere other than the Resources forum.

Consult the Resource/Request Posting Guidelines for more information.

Please don't put requests here! They have their own forum --> here. Thank you!
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

[Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ryan Cordell »

Well, I thought about it. I might as well post this here. Hopefully the usage of the horrible decorate method may stop. :P

There IS another part to this, which is the terrain lump, but I believe those are just for splashes and/or hitting the ground hard.

Credit goes to SolarSnowfall for the base, HotWax for optimization on the script, Isle for further optimization, Kate for even further optimization
Script may have problems with teleportation, keep that in mind.

EDIT: Actually, it seems using the Spoiler and Code tags together nullifies the entire post..

Actual contribution is down below:
Last edited by Ryan Cordell on Tue Feb 22, 2011 7:44 am, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ryan Cordell »

=================
ACS Footstep Addon
=================

#Note, the first index in the second dimension of the footstep array is always the footstep sound. It is not hardcoded, you can point it to any defined sound that you wish.
Spoiler: Spoilered for gigantic-ness
or

ZDoom Pastebin link to ACS Footstep addon
Last edited by Ryan Cordell on Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:31 am, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ral22 »

Have you tried this out? I'm very interested. I'd be willing to test this, as my player decorate is pretty large.

I do have some questions though. Does it take into account jumping and falling? Could I do this for my own wad pretty easily?
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ryan Cordell »

Yes I have already tried this out. I pretty much took this out from a mod named Genesis Saga, still in progress after all these years.
And I do believe it does it take jumping and falling into account. It won't play footstep sounds unless you're on the ground.
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ral22 »

The final question I have is this, does it support 3-d floors? If it does, I love you.
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ryan Cordell »

I have no bloody clue if this supports 3D floors. This wasn't built with them in mind. Only one way to try it out.
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ral22 »

I guess so. Do you have a Wad for this, or do I need to compile it myself?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Nash »

Ran into a limitation with this. While footstep triggering works on 3-d floors just fine, the actual SOUND that's selected is the problem: it will trigger the footstep sound of the REAL sector's floor texture, not the 3-d floor's floor texture.

So if you have a 3-d bridge made out of wood, but the the ground underneath the bridge is made of rock, when you walk on the bridge, the rock footstep will be triggered, not the wood.

I guess it's a [wiki]CheckActorFloorTexture[/wiki] limitation.

A workaround to this limitation, if using the above bridge example:

1) Set the real sector's floor texture that's under the bridge to wood
2) Move the real sector's height down by about 1 map pixel
3) Setup another solid 3-d sector in the same sector, this time with a rock texture

The idea here is that, you want CheckActorFloorTexture to check against wood, which is already done on the real sector. However this looks ugly, because you are suddenly seeing a block of wood on the ground. So to get around this, you move the sector down, then mask off the truth with a solid 3-d floor with a rock texture.

Very tedious, but it's the only way.
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ral22 »

What if you had to walk under the bridge, but on the bridge too? It defeats the footstep sounds. Well, looks like it's back to TERRAIN work for me.
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12325
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by NeuralStunner »

Ral22 wrote:What if you had to walk under the bridge, but on the bridge too? It defeats the footstep sounds.
Right... You'd basically only achieve a reversal of the problem. Unless your rock floor is inaccessible, but that doesn't seem very likely to do in any sort of believable manner... :(
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17433
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Nash »

I guess I'll request CheckActorFloorTexture to properly account for 3-d floors. Now that ZDoom supports 3-d floors, it's "not just GZDoom" anymore...

Also ran into a problem with CheckActorCeilingZ while coding a sun glare thing for my mod... same issue, the function is returning the ceiling Z coordinate eventhough collision is happening under a 3-d floor...
User avatar
NeuralStunner
 
 
Posts: 12325
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 12:04 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Location: capital N, capital S, no space
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by NeuralStunner »

Maybe Gez can help. He added a tweak for Heretic's RainPillar to work nicely with 3D floors...
User avatar
Ral22
Posts: 531
Joined: Sun Sep 05, 2010 12:09 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Location: The Fortress of Dr. Radiaki
Contact:

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ral22 »

Nash wrote:I guess I'll request CheckActorFloorTexture to properly account for 3-d floors. Now that ZDoom supports 3-d floors, it's "not just GZDoom" anymore...
ZDoom can support 3-d Floors now!? In the latest build, right!? I am so getting it!
User avatar
Xtyfe
Posts: 1480
Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2007 6:29 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Xtyfe »

don't mean to necropost, but can this be changed to work on all floor textures and just with a single sound?
User avatar
Ryan Cordell
Posts: 4349
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2005 6:39 am
Preferred Pronouns: No Preference
Operating System Version (Optional): Windows 10
Graphics Processor: nVidia (Modern GZDoom)
Location: Capital of Explodistan

Re: [Resource] ACS Footstep

Post by Ryan Cordell »

Yes - you can just use one sound at the first index. That's the only thing you'd have to change.
Post Reply

Return to “Resources”