Tweaking Brutal DooM's Flamethrower

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
mincartoon

Tweaking Brutal DooM's Flamethrower

Post by mincartoon »

I tested the latest beta of Brutal DooM, and the new alternative mode of Plasmagun is just fascinating.
Call me an arsonist, pyromaniac, whatever you want to. Everything BURNS.

However, I didn't like few points of the weapon and tweaked them myself.
I'm a todddler coder, and still reading wiki about GZDoom scripting, so my methods may not be very brilliant, nor new to most people.

This post is not intended to harass Sarge's work, and I won't upload nor distribute modified pk3. It's a completly educational, coding related article.

1. Changing the damage type to "Fire"

The plasma shots originally toast demons into char like normal shots do, but I wanted to see zombies, imps and pinky demons running around... It creates a massive confusion to enemies since they keep damaging each other, which I like.

At first I didn't know how to backtrack damagetype (i.e. looking at the monster profile and check "Death" section). So I looked into the Mancubus flame thrower and copied "damagetype Flames". It worked well to zombies, but for imps or demons not too well. Later I realised the actually damagetype is "Fire" by looking at monster codes. I guess there's an intermediate phase that connects "Flames" to trigger "Death.Fire", but it's still a mystery to me.

Anyway, the code:

-PARTICLE
Spoiler:
took the liberty of chaing the flag to +RIPPER, to enable flames to penetrate foes

2. Removing reload

Simply I don't like reloading weapons... I enjoy Rambo, Massacre, not pussy FPS shoooting, but it'll be considered as cheating for most of you. To do this just remove "goto Reload" lines from weapon codes.

3. Adding dynamic lights to Flamethrower