GZDoom Builder 1.14

Discuss all aspects of editing for ZDoom.
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

GZDoom Builder 1.14

Postby MaxED » Fri Mar 30, 2012 4:53 pm

Image

GZDoom Builder 1.14. Based on Doom Builder 2 SVN rev. 1604.
GZDoom Builder is a fork of Doom Builder 2, started in march 2012. The aim of this project is to support more features from modern-day doom engines (namely, ZDoom, GZDoom and Zandronum) and add more editing tools to make map creation faster and simpler.

Features:
Spoiler:


Changelog:
Spoiler:

Planned features:
Sky as seen in GZDoom.

Required software:
Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable Package (x86) (required only by Nodes Viewer plugin)
If you already have Doom Builder 2 installed, you don't need to install any of these:
SlimDX (x86 version)
Microsoft .Net Framework 3.5 (if you already have .Net Framework 4.0 or later installed, you'll still need to install 3.5 version, because newer versions are not backwards compatible with it!)


System requirements:
• 2.4 GHz CPU or faster. (Multi-core recommended)
• Windows XP, Vista or 7.
• Graphics card with Pixel Shader model 2.0 support.

If the manual doesn't work (Windows Vista/7/8):
Spoiler:

Known issues:
Incorrect UV-mapping on some of MD2 models.

If something isn't working:
This GZDB install guide by Kappes Buur may help you.

Other stuff which may interest you:
TEXTURES Creator
Simple Quake Launcher - a ZDL-inspired map launcher for Quake.

Download:
Download GZDoom Builder 1.14 (very outdated, please use SVN builds instead)
Download the latest SVN build from DRD Team
View recent SVN activity
Browse source
Last edited by MaxED on Fri Oct 17, 2014 3:21 am, edited 112 times in total.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Nash » Fri Mar 30, 2012 5:47 pm

HOLY CRAP DOWNLOADING

EDIT:

is it safe for me to just dump this into my current Doom Builder 2 r1489 folder and start using it right away? Or is there anything I need to be aware of?
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby MaxED » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:27 pm

Well, original Builder.exe will be overwritten with mine and game configurations (especially "Includes" folder) may be messed up. Other than that it should be fine :)
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Xtyfe » Fri Mar 30, 2012 6:51 pm

Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby MaxED » Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:35 pm

Xtyfe wrote:Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?

That was my first thought. But after looking through code, I did't find a way to do that in a plugin (because I don't think Doom Builder's core classes like Render2D/3D or WorldVertex, or shader related ones can be changed/overriden by plugin).
Besides, there isn't much activity in Doom Builder 2 development now.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Xtyfe » Fri Mar 30, 2012 7:40 pm

MaxED wrote:
Xtyfe wrote:Instead of making a fork, why not help codeimp improve his gzdoom plugin?

That was my first thought. But after looking through code, I did't find a way to do that in a plugin (because I don't think Doom Builder's core classes like Render2D/3D or WorldVertex, or shader related ones can be changed/overriden by plugin).
Besides, there isn't much activity in Doom Builder 2 development now.


I see, well i'm happy either way that you have taken this over :wub:
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Sergeant_Mark_IV » Fri Mar 30, 2012 8:33 pm

Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?
User avatar
Sergeant_Mark_IV
Worse than Hitler.
Banned User
 
Joined: 02 Feb 2011
Location: United Communist Nazi Republic Dictactorship of Banana Land (Brazil)

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Blue Shadow » Fri Mar 30, 2012 9:54 pm

Sergeant_Mark_IV wrote:Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?

The official Doom Builder 2 already can do that with its GZDoom Visual Mode plugin.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby MaxED » Sat Mar 31, 2012 8:31 am

Sergeant_Mark_IV wrote:Can it render 3D floors and slopes in 3D view mode?

It uses the same GZDoom Visual mode plugin as Doom Builder 2, so yes, it can. Currently 3D floors aren't affected by dynamic lights though.
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Agentbromsnor » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:35 am

Dude, if this works the way I hope it does I f'ing love it! :D Downloading ASAP!

I've always thought it would be awesome to implement Worldcraft-like features into Doom Builder.

Edit: never mind, the program crashes immediately at startup. :C ("GZDoom Builder has stopped working") Glad I didn't overwrite my old Doom Builder for this. :P
Agentbromsnor
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Mikk- » Sat Mar 31, 2012 9:45 am

Have you downloaded the .NET & SlimDX frameworks? [I can't remember which ones, though]
User avatar
Mikk-
I found a gun in the Laundry Cart, guess someone didn't like the room service.
 
Joined: 30 Jun 2009
Location: Space station base of the UAC

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Agentbromsnor » Sat Mar 31, 2012 10:01 am

I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.
Agentbromsnor
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby MaxED » Sat Mar 31, 2012 1:06 pm

Agentbromsnor wrote:I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.

There are setup files for .Net Framework 3.5 and SlimDX 2.0 in "GZDoomBuilder 1.0\Setup\" folder
User avatar
MaxED
 
Joined: 28 Feb 2012

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Nash » Sat Mar 31, 2012 5:22 pm

Works great so far, and I was about to report that the dynamic lights don't work on 3-d floor sectors, but it looks like you are aware of the issue. Hope this gets fixed.

Also looking forward to dynamic lights from DECORATE actors/GLDEFS.

Any plans for coloured fog support?

This editor is amazing. Thumbs up. :D
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoomBuilder: bringing GZDoom features into Doom Builde

Postby Agentbromsnor » Sun Apr 01, 2012 5:54 am

MaxED wrote:
Agentbromsnor wrote:I think I have .NET installed, not sure though. Can you provide me with a link? I still have GZBuilder on my desktop so I can try again.

There are setup files for .Net Framework 3.5 and SlimDX 2.0 in "GZDoomBuilder 1.0\Setup\" folder


I installed both of them and its still crashing upon startup...
Agentbromsnor
 
Joined: 28 Mar 2012

Next

Return to Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot], Snarboo, Yandex [Bot] and 3 guests