HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Archive of the old editing forum
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. This forum is archived - please use this set of forums to ask new questions.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Ceeb »

I tried using HIRESTEX to scale some sprites that I can't scale in DECORATE (because I only want specific ones to be scaled...) and it didn't work. I did like the Wiki said. Also, scaling hi-resolution textures worked fine.

Code: Select all

define BROKA0 41 21
define HGPKA0 18 10
define BURNA1 28 37
define BURNA5 27 36
define BURNA8A2 27 37
define BURNA7A3 32 37
define BURNA6A4 27 37
define BURNB1 24 37
This is a sample of what I'm trying to make smaller.
User avatar
Logan MTM
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Logan MTM »

Did you load crappy lumps before Remap with your HIRES Lumps?
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Ceeb »

Logan MTM wrote:Did you load crappy lumps before Remap with your HIRES Lumps?
..What?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Graf Zahl »

You can't define sprites like this because the engine doesn't recognize them as sprites. For it this is just textures.
User avatar
Logan MTM
Posts: 678
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2006 8:53 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Logan MTM »

What?
GFXs and Sprites are working very well here. :?
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Graf Zahl »

'define' never created sprites - only textures. The code looking up the sprites doesn't find anything that's not defined as a sprite. Furthermore, the old HIRESTEX commands have been deprecated and won't see any further change. The new TEXTURES commands are much more flexible, better defined and more robust but they require a bit more typing.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Ceeb »

Graf Zahl wrote:'define' never created sprites - only textures. The code looking up the sprites doesn't find anything that's not defined as a sprite. Furthermore, the old HIRESTEX commands have been deprecated and won't see any further change. The new TEXTURES commands are much more flexible, better defined and more robust but they require a bit more typing.
I'm using the latest version of GZDoom, and TEXTURES doesn't work. It does say something on the Wiki about "development version only", though, which might explain that. :roll:
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by NiGHTMARE »

Ceeb wrote:I'm using the latest version of GZDoom, and TEXTURES doesn't work. It does say something on the Wiki about "development version only", though, which might explain that. :roll:
You mean you're using the latest "official" version of GZDoom. Unofficial (and, I might add, far more up-to-date) SVN builds are readily available for both GZDoom and ZDoom; you can find them here.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1713
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux, Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Woolie Wool »

This gives me a "bad frame characters" error:

Code: Select all

sprite cellicon, 64, 64
{
XScale 4
YScale 4
}
User avatar
Graf Zahl
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Lead GZDoom+Raze Developer
Posts: 49056
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 10:19 am
Location: Germany

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Graf Zahl »

... which is not surprising. ZDoom tries to install that lump as a sprite and fails because it can't match it to any rotation frame for CELLO.

General rule: Don't put non-sprites into the sprites namespace.
User avatar
Woolie Wool
Posts: 1713
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2003 3:36 pm
Preferred Pronouns: He/Him
Operating System Version (Optional): Arch Linux, Windows 11
Graphics Processor: nVidia with Vulkan support
Contact:

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Woolie Wool »

Could you add "graphic" as well as "sprite" and "texture" then? CELLICON was never meant to be displayed outside of the HUD.
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Ceeb »

I'm just going to wait for the next official release of GZDoom. My mod probably won't be done before it, there's a few other upcoming features I'm using already, and my skills with SVN are full suck.
NiGHTMARE
Posts: 3463
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 8:39 am

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by NiGHTMARE »

Ceeb wrote:my skills with SVN are full suck.
You don't need any SVN skills; the link I provided has the binaries :).
User avatar
Ceeb
Posts: 5125
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2008 4:07 pm
Location: Castle Wut

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Ceeb »

NiGHTMARE wrote:
Ceeb wrote:my skills with SVN are full suck.
You don't need any SVN skills; the link I provided has the binaries :).
Not to be negative, but aren't those versions unstable?
User avatar
Nash
 
 
Posts: 17434
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 12:07 am
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contact:

Re: HIRESTEX doesn't work for sprites.

Post by Nash »

I've been playing and developing mods 100% on SVN builds ever since I learnt how to compile them. :D
Locked

Return to “Editing (Archive)”