GZDoom and models.

Discuss all aspects of editing for ZDoom.
Forum rules
Before asking on how to use a ZDoom feature, read the ZDoom wiki first. If you still don't understand how to use a feature, then ask here.

GZDoom and models.

Postby Lexus Alyus » Fri Jul 25, 2008 10:38 am

I'm gathering that GZDoom can sue models now. Am I correct? What model formats are supported? Does it support Q1 MDL files? I like the Q1 models and they're easy to skin.

:ugeek:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
I may be back...
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby DoomKn1ght_ » Fri Jul 25, 2008 12:11 pm

It support md2 , md3 and dmd I guess. :wink:
DoomKn1ght_
 
Joined: 21 Jul 2008

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Duducrazy » Fri Jul 25, 2008 1:31 pm

DoomKn1ght_ wrote:It support md2 , md3 and dmd I guess. :wink:


if GZDoom supports the Doomsday's .DMD files, then why no one haven't ported the Jdoom models yet?
User avatar
Duducrazy
 
Joined: 21 Aug 2004

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Nash » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:02 pm

Only MD2, MD3 and partial support of Doomsday's DMD. Nothing else. So no, no Quake MDLs.

Duducrazy wrote:if GZDoom supports the Doomsday's .DMD files, then why no one haven't ported the Jdoom models yet?


Doomsday uses a totally different approach and therefore syntax. It's not as simple as copy and paste. Furthermore, GZDoom doesn't support model alpha so some of Doomsday's models that use translucent textures won't look the same in GZDoom.

I think there's a partial Doomsday -> GZDoom model pack over at the Skulltag community though.
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Lexus Alyus » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:17 pm

So I can use Quake 2 models then? :D

I'm thinking of getting into modelling myself. Blender is free, so I'd use that, but is there a way to export or save Blender models as MD2/3?

:ugeek:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
I may be back...
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Nash » Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:25 pm

Blender can't export to MD2 (which is a shitty format and should be avoided) or MD3, but there are user-written scripts that allow you to export into those formats. They are difficult to find, though... you have to scour around in the Blender community.

Oh and BTW, Blender has a high learning curve so good luck with that. Not to discourage you or anything - if you have the time and patience, then Blender's definitely bang for the buck because it costs you zero.
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Enjay » Fri Jul 25, 2008 4:08 pm

You said that you have downloaded my Burghead levels. If you've played them, you'll have seen quite a few models being used - although most of them are used for static decorations rather than enemies.

Cutman did a small zombie invasion level (that's a small level, not small zombies :lol: ) where the zombies were done with models and there is an example WAD kicking around somewhere of the Quake2 gunner fully implemented as a model enemy in GZdoom. Quake 2 models are pretty easy to use in GZdoom.

If you are making your own, as Nash said, go for the MD3 rather than the MD2 format if you can. The two main problems I had with MD2s is that a) the vertexes can move when you save the file making accurate placement of points and sharp edges almost impossible and b) if the model is animated, moving one area of the model may cause other areas to move slightly when you save the file. eg I had a stationary machine with a rotating wheel on the side as the wheel rotated the supposedly solid cube that was the rest of the machine wiggled and warped in time with it. :?
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Galaxy_Stranger » Sat Jul 26, 2008 2:35 am

User avatar
Galaxy_Stranger
Shropshire Slasher
 
Joined: 17 Aug 2003
Location: Shropshire

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Lexus Alyus » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:38 am

Thanks a lot for that link Galaxy_stranger :). I've added it to my bookmarks ready for when I decide to install and attempt to learn Blender. The only reason why I picked that one is because it's free :D. I'll probably start with static models first just to learn the basics and then start to make more complex models with animation when I feel ready. That seems sensible :D.

Is Milkshape worth buying? I had a play with that years ago and it seemed to export to all formats.

@Enjay: I'm currently not that far into that mod, but I'll keep an eye out for those models when I'm playing it :).

:ugeek:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
I may be back...
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Enjay » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:44 am

Lexus Alyus wrote:@Enjay: I'm currently not that far into that mod, but I'll keep an eye out for those models when I'm playing it :).

You're not looking hard enough. ;) Right at the player start, the little lamp hanging from the ceiling is a model, most of the bushes and trees you have walked past are too. Just around the corner, the beach tank traps are models, the trucks outside the house at the start of the second level are too... ;)
User avatar
Enjay
Everyone is a moon, and has a dark side which he never shows to anybody. Twain
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Scotland

Re: GZDoom and models.

Postby Lexus Alyus » Sat Jul 26, 2008 8:48 am

Me=Mr Unobservant :D.

:ugeek:
User avatar
Lexus Alyus
I may be back...
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: Nottingham, UK


Return to Editing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Captain J and 5 guests