[WIP] Project ZD3K [update: 14-09-2018] * WIP life

For Total Conversions and projects that don't otherwise fall under the other categories.
Forum rules
The Projects forums are only for projects. If you are asking questions about a project, either find that project's thread, or start a thread in the General section instead.

Got a cool project idea but nothing else? Put it in the project ideas thread instead!

Projects for any Doom-based engine (especially 3DGE) are perfectly acceptable here too.

Please read the full rules for more details.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by Enjay »

If I want to make a cutscene skippable, provided that the player sprite is not in the cutscene, I put the player in a small box and freeze him. The walls of the box are set to run the script that skips the cutscene. Freezing the player does not disable the [use] button so I put a message on screen like "Press [use] to skip the cutscene" and if the player does press use, the scrip gets run and the cutscene gets skipped. No need for any custom keys or anything like that.

If you have a long intro cutscene, one way to do it is to put the cutscene in the project as a titlemap. That way the player can see the intro any time they start ZDoom with the project loaded but if they don't want to watch it, they can bring up the menu and start a game in the normal way.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

Hey enjay old friend :)

Does thats work when the player is involved in the cutscene?

I have many cutscene where the animation are from camera or interpolation scene, and some where the player see it from his eyes.
User avatar
Hellstorm Archon
Posts: 1176
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2010 7:37 pm
Preferred Pronouns: They/Them
Location: 404 Error- Location of User Not Found
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by Hellstorm Archon »

Hah, it's good to see you're booting up this mod again after quite some time. I grew really fond of it when I saw it on Newdoom a few years ago, and it's great to see this back. :)
User avatar
randi
Site Admin
Posts: 7746
Joined: Wed Jul 09, 2003 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by randi »

You can do this without adding any new keybinds:

Code: Select all

script 2 (void)
{
    ACS_Execute(222, 2, 3);    // Execute script that allows terminating the cutscene early
                               // The 2 is this script's number, and
                               // the 3 is the script to execute when this one is terminated early.

   SetPlayerProperty (1, 1, 0); // the player cannot move
   delay(pause*2);
   print(s:"Welcome visitor, please be patient for a moment.");
   delay(pause*2);
   print(s:"Initiating deep scan, now!");
   delay(pause*2);
   Ceiling_LowerByValue (30, 8, 8);
   delay(pause);
   Light_Fade(43, 160, pause);   //slope arc
   Light_Fade (30, 160, pause);   //slope
   int scan1fl=128;
   int scan1cl=136;
   int scan1flcur=0;
   int scan1clcur=0;
   int scan1=0;
   int scan0=0;
   //Sector_SetColor (37, 255, 210, 1, 0);
   Light_Fade (37, 255, pause/4);   //scan
   for(scan0=0; scan0<2; scan0++)
   {
      for(scan1=128; scan1>=0; scan1--)
      {
         Light_Fade (37, 200, pause/4);   //scan
         FloorAndCeiling_LowerByValue(37, pause/8, 1);
         delay(pause/8);
         Light_Fade (37, 255, pause/4);   //scan
      }
      delay(pause/4);
      for(scan1=0; scan1<=128; scan1++)
      {
         Light_Fade (37, 200, pause/4);   //scan
         FloorAndCeiling_RaiseByValue(37, pause/8, 1);
         delay(pause/8);
         Light_Fade (37, 255, pause/4);   //scan
      }
   }
   delay(pause/2);
   Light_ChangeToValue(81, 120);   //room
   Light_ChangeToValue(31, 120);   //scan's spot
   Light_ChangeToValue(37, 120);   //scan 3d sector
   Light_ChangeToValue(30, 120);   //slope
   print(s:"Scan complete.");
   delay(pause);
   Light_Fade (81, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (31, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (37, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (30, 140, pause*2);
   print(s:"I'm sorry Major Falco.");
   delay(pause);
   print(s:"I did not know it was you, you can enter the station now.");
   delay(pause);
   SetPlayerProperty (1, 0, 0); // the player can move
   PorteDebut = true;
   hudmessage(s:" "; HUDMSG_FADEINOUT, 999, 0, 350.0, 400.0, 1.0, 1.0, 1.0);
   Autosave();
}

// Cleanup after a prematurely terminated script 2
script 3 (void)
{
   //place everything that the cutscene at script 2 should be at the end of it
   //set any vars at the value they should all have
   //set any player property back to what they should be
   Floor_MoveToValue(37, 0, 128, 0);
   Ceiling_MoveToValue(37, 0, 136, 0);
   Light_Fade (81, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (31, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (37, 140, pause*2);
   Light_Fade (30, 140, pause*2);
   SetPlayerProperty (1, 0, 0); // the player can move
   PorteDebut = true;
   print(s:"cutscene skipped");   //confirm the player that he skipped the cutscene
   Autosave();
}

// This script sits in a loop waiting for +use to be pressed.
// If +use was held down, it will be ignored until it is released and repressed.
// It takes the cutscene's script number as a parameter, so you can reuse it for any number of cutscenes.
// It also takes as parameter a script to cleanup after an incomplete cutscene.
script 222 (int scriptnum, int skipscript)
{
    setfont("SMALLFONT");
    HudMessage(s:"\cj Press the \cg use key \cj to skip this scene"; HUDMSG_PLAIN, 10, 0, 350.0, 400.0, 0);

    while (!(GetPlayerInput(-1, INPUT_BUTTONS) & BT_USE) || (GetPlayerInput(-1, INPUT_OLDBUTTONS) & BT_USE))
    {
        delay(1);
    }
    ACS_Terminate(scriptnum);
    ACS_Execute(skipscript);
}
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

Vaecrius wrote:Lookin' pretty sweet.

Any way to make these long scripts skippable? I don't like unskippable cutscenes.
They will all be skippable, only few little ones that i wont, but the majority of them will be skippable.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

25 august 2012

Image
Screenshot 0014 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0015 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0016 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0017 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0018 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0019 Res: 1920x1080
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

Got Map 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 rebuilded fine and completed.
User avatar
Enjay
 
 
Posts: 26534
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 4:58 pm
Location: Scotland
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by Enjay »

Looking good. I suggest that you make the green EDF logo on the crates duller and more in keeping with the numbers on them. ATM it really stands out as a pasted-on graphic.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

Enjay wrote:Looking good. I suggest that you make the green EDF logo on the crates duller and more in keeping with the numbers on them. ATM it really stands out as a pasted-on graphic.
This is a good sugesstion and a good idea you have Enjay, thos texture are like 8-9 years old.
I didnt had photoshop when i made them from the old crate.

You also gave me the idea to maybe change most of these texture to higher resolution, but this will wait for far later.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

I do have much stuff to share at the moment. I am very busy lately with work and with the mod progression.
So here some testing with a communication commlink screen that i am going to add into the game. I have loved this way to interacting with the player back in old classic DeusEx game. Since i have changed and updating the whole game story by alot, seeing other mods made some powerful things, i have to do the same. For now the whole communication commlink is ugly and only serve as testing. I have my brother testing out my current 1st hub with this commlink and hes loving it.

Another thing added into the game is a modification of the SBar into a new one. I am currently using Blue Shadow's nc_custom_hud_v1.5. I found it somewhere in the zdoom ressource forum, i loved it and on how it work. I tried the Doom64 one but it didn't touch my feeling. I plan to modify nc_custom_hud_v1.5 to add more weapons ammo and custom items, as well as a small minimap.

So here is the only screenshot i can share for today.

Image
Screenshot 0020 Res: 1920x1080


_
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

September 23 Updates.

I have totaly modified Blue Shadow's nc_custom_hud_v1.5 into my own desired usage by now. Every weapons have now its own ammunition, only energy weapons share the same one.

Added Ryan Cordell's weapon that will replace my HR12 (Quake 2's shotgun) into a more doomish graphic.

Added and still in the work of using Sergeant_Mark_IV's brutal doom blood and gore mode to add a more realistic pain and death. I am configuring less gore that brutal doom and also using the gore and blood effect from it i don't like when it's too bloodly lol. I do not want to make the game the same way as brutal doom. As i told Sergeant_Mark_IV when asking his permission to use his work partialy, i am going to stay in this way. I am gonna add my own death effect way if i can, as i am not a graphic guy, im a coder :)

So here is a screenshot of some gore and blood test by only using death and xdeath state + blood and gore body parts from Brütal Doom v0.16

Image
Screenshot 0021 Res: 1920x1080


_
User avatar
Ravick
Posts: 2003
Joined: Sun Aug 22, 2010 10:59 pm
Location: Tubarão, Brasil
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by Ravick »

Nice! :D

Humm... Maybe that jaws could be scaled down a bit. They're almoes the size of the dead guys head. o.õ
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

11 October 2012

I haven't shown any sign of life lately. I have been very busy at work and on some big map design. This is at the moment under careful work, this is a crucial area of the game that need some hard decoration. I started adding some 3D Floor, i love them.

This is the new skybox of the whole Space Station hub.

Image
Screenshot 0022 Res: 1920x1080


There is a current bug with this skybox's texture which i don't know what is going on. It just shrink just as i move a little away, and size to normal as i walk back closer... very odd.

Image
Screenshot 0023 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0024 Res: 1920x1080



This is an area where we start seeing much life in the station, which ain't only a military station.

Image
Screenshot 0025 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0026 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0027 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0028 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0029 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0030 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0031 Res: 1920x1080
samtam90
Posts: 33
Joined: Fri Sep 01, 2006 9:12 am
Location: Italy

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by samtam90 »

Just wanted to say that it's *great* to see this mod's comeback, since its feature list sounded quite impressive when I read it in zdoom's wiki.
User avatar
X-DOOM
Posts: 541
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2003 5:16 pm
Location: Charlesbourg, Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: Project ZD3K (rebuilding it)

Post by X-DOOM »

21 October 2012

I have made so many detail work with 3d floor... i had to cut down in many smaller room with these 3d floors, the game was turning down its framerate.

Image
Screenshot 0032 Res: 1920x1080


Image
Screenshot 0033 Res: 1920x1080


Soldiers playing space poker!

Image
Screenshot 0034 Res: 1920x1080


Image
Screenshot 0035 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0036 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0037 Res: 1920x1080

Is this some chicks?
Added some femele scientist into the mod, there was only 1 as a marine. I am using the one made by scalliano and DavidRaven, i have removed her knife, blood and her red eyes. Made another 5 sprite of her from standing still.

Image
Screenshot 0038 Res: 1920x1080

Image
Screenshot 0039 Res: 1920x1080


Some rework with the huge skyboxe... i still have to had in the shadow the sagittarius arm of our milky way.

Image
Screenshot 0040 Res: 1920x1080

I still gotta change these crate's insigna.
Post Reply

Return to “TCs, Full Games, and Other Projects”