[HUD] Statusbar Reloaded

For in-development or completed ZDoom projects
Forum rules
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? This forum is NOT for you! Put it in this thread instead!
Please read the full rules for more details.

What features of 1.1 version do you like the most? (select 3)

Pickup-weapons available indicator (small, gold numbers)
14
18%
Ability to use ZDoom-specific fullscreen HUDs
6
8%
Improved ammo reserve counters (B:, S:, etc)
8
10%
Protection counter (seen over health)
6
8%
Backpack/Berserk indicators
7
9%
Non-fixed powerup time counters
7
9%
Total ammo2 counter (or moving weapon icon)
6
8%
Gametype-specific counters (Frag counter/Level stats counters)
5
6%
Score counter
6
8%
Brutal Doom-related enhancements
14
18%
 
Total votes : 79

[HUD] Statusbar Reloaded

Postby Zaero » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:03 am

Today, I've spend some time trying to make a new HUD for Doom.
Vanilla status bar has a lot of info, but obscures the view to much. Quake 3 HUD was really minimal to let players react quickly in the game, but not all info was present (for ex. other ammo types). I decided to make a HUD which makes both: is really full of info, and "not very" view-obscuring at the same time.

Features:
-Q3-style layout
-Both fullscreen and normal HUD's replaced
-All the info from vanilla statusbar present, except for total ammo limits
-item's "wear off time" displayed (even for all items at once)
-Ammo2 support (which means it's compatible with Brutal Doom and properly shows clip capacity)
-statusbar disabled in the map view (to not obscure it)
-Air indicator (may be useful for diving, disabled by default, since vanilla Doom has no underwater sectors)
-Health counter can drop below zero

EDIT1: 18.07.2012 New Release! Version 1.1 download below.
Important! : This version requires the newest release of ZDoom.

EDIT2: 17.08.2012 New Release! Version 1.2 ready to grab!
This time it has all the cool mugfaces seen on the screenshots (thanks to Mr.Rocket) as well as map indicator
Get it now: http://www.mediafire.com/download.php?908wp8a2e731m73
Important! : The file extension was changed to pk7, so don't forget to adjust your startup files.

Also, please get familiar with my other projects:
Classic Weapons Pack for Brutal Doom: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=33169
Retail-ation mod series: viewtopic.php?f=19&t=33222
Attachments
Statusbar Reloaded.zip
Statusbar Reloaded 1.1
(4.37 KiB) Downloaded 453 times
Screenshot_Doom_20120712_174704.jpg
Invulnerability wore off
Screenshot_Doom_20120712_174647.jpg
All the powerups active at once
Last edited by Zaero on Fri Aug 17, 2012 5:19 am, edited 11 times in total.
Zaero
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2011

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Slax » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:04 am

Good stuff. Gimme!
User avatar
Slax
Mutants are we.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Porntown, Scandinavia.

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Gez » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:33 am

Isn't it possible to have the air supply indicator only shown when waterlevel == 3? If the variables accessible through DECORATE expressions aren't already accessible through SBARINFO, that'd be a good feature suggestion.
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Zaero » Thu Jul 12, 2012 11:43 am

Gez wrote:Isn't it possible to have the air supply indicator only shown when waterlevel == 3? If the variables accessible through DECORATE expressions aren't already accessible through SBARINFO, that'd be a good feature suggestion.


Yeah, I was looking for such a command but found none.
Zaero
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2011

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby southpark2010 » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:38 pm

I can't seem to get this to work. I tried this in both Skulltag and GZDoom.
Code: Select allExpand view
Execution could not continue.

Script error, "q3hud.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 7:
Unknown flag 'Alignment'.

The HUD looks cool though.
User avatar
southpark2010
GAHH! Zombies with big guns...
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2011
Location: Hell.

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby amv2k9 » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:41 pm

southpark2010 wrote:I can't seem to get this to work. I tried this in both Skulltag and GZDoom.
Download ZDoom 2.6/GZDoom 1.6, or a more recent SVN, then try again.
Last edited by amv2k9 on Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:44 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
amv2k9
MSX:MISP, Satanic Redux, and Weapons of Rebellion Series Dev
 
Joined: 10 Jan 2010
Location: Southern California

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Gez » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:42 pm

Try GZDoom 1.6.0.
Gez
 
Joined: 06 Jul 2007

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby southpark2010 » Thu Jul 12, 2012 3:48 pm

Working now, thanks. Zaero, is there a plan for a ST compatible version?
User avatar
southpark2010
GAHH! Zombies with big guns...
 
Joined: 04 Jul 2011
Location: Hell.

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Springy » Thu Jul 12, 2012 5:51 pm

Yes, Get in! Downloading this baby now.
User avatar
Springy
Yes indeed ladies and gentlemen.
 
Joined: 08 Mar 2012
Location: Earth

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby -Ghost- » Thu Jul 12, 2012 7:27 pm

Cool, I like HUDs that let you see the duration left on powerups. It's nice to have a little more space freed up but still keep the mugshot, too.
User avatar
-Ghost-
 
Joined: 08 Sep 2010

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby leileilol » Thu Jul 12, 2012 9:30 pm

This isn't "Q3 style" at all. Too much information onscreen.

Weapons would show up when you cycle/pick them only. Powerups would build up off the lower right corner. Numbers would be big and next to an icon to the left of them. Only in certain mods mods were ammo counters (above icons of guns during selection) ever added.

Then I realized - why didn't you make a screenshot of the simpler hud?
User avatar
leileilol
I DREW THIS < 10min
 
Joined: 30 May 2004
Location: japanimation web ring's

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Zaero » Fri Jul 13, 2012 6:43 am

southpark2010 wrote:Working now, thanks. Zaero, is there a plan for a ST compatible version?


Not ATM.

I plan to upgrade it a bit, but currently I'm stuck with a problem.
Maybe some of you know: What should I type after "InInventory" to execute the block if player has found the Computer Area Map?

EDIT: I'm ready for the next release. Just would like to know the answer to the question asked in poll.
Attachments
Screenshot_Doom_20120713_155943.jpg
Backpack and Berserk indicators + non-fixed powerup counter (right corner)
Zaero
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2011

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:27 am

Zaero wrote:What should I type after "InInventory" to execute the block if player has found the Computer Area Map?

Try Allmap.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Zaero » Fri Jul 13, 2012 11:42 am

Blue Shadow wrote:
Zaero wrote:What should I type after "InInventory" to execute the block if player has found the Computer Area Map?

Try Allmap.


Tried already. As well as "MapRevealer", "COMPUTERMAP" - no effect. :(
Zaero
 
Joined: 31 Jan 2011

Re: [HUD] Q3-style HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Sat Jul 14, 2012 4:57 am

It turned out that the MapRevealer actor, which is the base actor class for the computer area map, doesn't stay in player's inventory after pickup to begin with, thus you can't check for its presence. It instead, and I quote from the source code: "sets a flag on the level".
Spoiler: Code snippet
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Next

Return to Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Gifty, RikohZX, Se7eNytes and 7 guests