[WIP] NC HUD v1.20

For in-development or completed ZDoom projects
Forum rules
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? This forum is NOT for you! Put it in this thread instead!
Please read the full rules for more details.

[WIP] NC HUD v1.20

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:25 pm

Main HUD: v1.20 - November 21st, 2014

Patches:


Dedicated Versions: (These are modifications of the HUD which are created and maintained by other members of the community for their favorite mods)


Important Notes: (Last updated on November 21st, 2014)

  • The HUD requires a development build of ZDoom to run. ZDoom 2.8pre-589-gf482dc0 or newer is sufficient. For GZDoom, official version 1.8.7 or newer is required.
  • It does not work with Zandronum or Skulltag (in case of the latter, it never will), as they do not have the necessary features.
  • It will only work "out of the box" with projects that do not alter the player's arsenal. Modification of the HUD is necessary if you want custom weapons and ammo to work with it.

Additional Patch-related Notes: (Last updated on November 21st, 2014)

  • Do not request patches; except for the Brutal Doom patch, the ones I will be making are only for mods that I'm interested in.
  • The patches above assume that you are using unmodified versions of the respective mods. Typically, the patches should work with modified versions of the mods as long as the class names of the weapons and their associated ammo types are left untouched.
  • The main HUD is required for the patches to work. Make sure it is loaded before the patch files, and after any other mods.
  • The icons patch is meant to be used with the main HUD alone if one so desires. Do not mix it with the other patches.

    Brutal Doom patch notes:

    • The patch was tested with brutal19. There are no guarantees that it will work with older versions.
    • The patch is only meant to be used with "vanilla" Brutal Doom. So, if you use an add-on or a mutator of some sort, and it turns out that it does not work, do not come to me and complain about it. I have absolutely no intention of supporting these add-ons and mutators.

What's new/changed in this version:

  • Updated Doom RPG patch to keep up with the recent changes introduced to Doom RPG. The updated patch necessitated changes to be made to the main HUD. Hence, the version bump.

Spoiler: Screenshots
Spoiler: Previous versions
Spoiler: Original post
Last edited by Blue Shadow on Fri Nov 21, 2014 5:44 am, edited 35 times in total.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Slax » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:38 pm

Still room to show all of your reserve ammo over the ammo counter. Hint hint. ;)
EDIT: Just a personal preference. Can't stand huds without it.
Last edited by Slax on Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Slax
Big Milks.
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Porntown, Scandinavia.

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:40 pm

This is a very very nice HUD, exactly what I was looking for.

Some suggestions would be for the ammo counter to also display the max amount as well as the current. and for the HUD to work when "hud_scale" is set to true which right now makes it look messed up
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby SFJake » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:29 pm

Like the simplicity of it.

I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

Really like the overall look.
User avatar
SFJake
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:41 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Note: Due to some issues I ran into, which I couldn't find a solution for (yet), the HUD replaces the normal status bar and not the fullscreen one.

What sort of issues? As far as I can tell, you should be able to just use "statusbar normal, fullscreenoffsets" to make that work...
User avatar
wildweasel
referee is tired of your shit
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: america, home of the world's most expensive public education system

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xaser » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:50 pm

Ack. Yeah, this should definitely be replacing the fullscreen bar. I currently get this:

Image

This definitely looks great from the screenshot, though! Simple, yet attractive. Hopefully the issue is worked out soonish.
User avatar
Xaser
secretly a supercomputer being a government
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Location: .plɹoʍɹǝʌǝu.

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:52 pm

You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.
User avatar
wildweasel
referee is tired of your shit
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: america, home of the world's most expensive public education system

Re: A custom HUD

Postby DTDsphere » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:57 pm

wildweasel wrote:You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.

Yes please.
User avatar
DTDsphere
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:35 pm

SFJake wrote:I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

I appreciate your opinion, but it won't change, sorry. I'd like to keep some consistency with the other bars colors (armor and ammo) as blue being the "normal" color. Turning the health bar to yellow and red is special case.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

I thought about not including the arms (weapon numbers), but sometimes I wish I had a way of knowing if I already have weapon x and weapon y. I could try and press the keys on my keyboard to see, however, with the arms dispaly, all I need is a quick glance on the right.

This of course applies to the "reserve" ammo display. That's why I'm gonna try and include it.

wildweasel wrote:What sort of issues?

Well, they're more of annoyences really; one is related to the inventory bar, which I think I've found a solution for (I haven't tried it yet) and the other is the mugshot.

Since I'm using the fullscreenoffsets flag, merely adding the mugshot won't work well, since it'll be too small for the HUD. That's why I scaled it up 200% with the use of TEXTURES. It worked well for the HUD but not that well for the standard Doom status bar. I tried "defining" a new separate mugshot to use specially for the HUD, alas I seem to have failed. So, that's why I did what I did, because I'd rather have it replace Doom's standard statusbar than have a "broken" one.

Long story short; if I want the HUD to replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD, then I'd like to keep Doom's standard status bar intact and unaffected by any changes I could or might have done to my HUD (like the mugshot case above).

For the hud_scale issue and as per wildweasel solution, I used the resolution command and it doesn't seem to affect wherther you've hud_scale on or off, which is what we want. However, I used 640x400 and not 800x600, as the results didn't turn out quite well with the latter.

First post updated to hopefully fix this issue. Could someone test this and see if it works for them as well, please.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:27 pm

much better, works with hud_scale now :D except the inventory bar is not scaled still
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:32 pm

Fixing the hud_scale issue missed up the offest of the inventory bar*. Also, the inventory bar doesn't seem to be affected by hud_scale unlike the rest of the HUD. :?

Man! I never realised how buggy this thing actually is when I uploaded it. It's all because of this hud scale thing. If I knew it would be such an issue, I would have refrained from uploading it.

Anyway, first post is updated with another hotfix. Is it any better?

* It also missed up Doom's standard statusbar. So, forget what I said about keeping Doom's standard status bar intact and having this HUD replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD. It's gonna stay as it's.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:19 pm

Yep, its aligned now
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Pachira » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:53 am

I get an error when I try to play with this in Skulltag.
Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "nc_custom_hud_v03.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 3:
Bad syntax.
User avatar
Pachira
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Location: UAAF Mars

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Nash » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 am

This is a nice custom HUD. If you get the fullscreen version sorted out, I hope you scale down the graphics so it's smaller. Also, shouldn't the ammo icon change depending on the current weapon selected? Currently all weapons use the shotgun shell icon.
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: A custom HUD

Postby XutaWoo » Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:07 am

Pachira wrote:Skulltag.

There's your problem.
User avatar
XutaWoo
one day when going to see the rabbit, there was a previous visitor ...
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Next

Return to Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Blzut3, Funky Gnoll, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Medicris, RaveYard, Shadez12, SidDoyle, TweetMeme [Bot] and 21 guests