[WIP] NC HUD v1.19

For in-development or completed ZDoom projects
Forum rules
Got a cool project idea but nothing else? This forum is NOT for you! Put it in this thread instead!
Please read the full rules for more details.

[WIP] NC HUD v1.19

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:25 pm

Main HUD: v1.19 - August 13th, 2014

Patches:


Dedicated Versions: (These are modifications of the HUD which are created and maintained by other members of the community for their favorite mods)


Important Notes: (Last updated on August 13th, 2014)

  • The HUD requires development builds of ZDoom 2.8pre-589-gf482dc0+ and GZDoom 1.9pre-790-gc30cfb3+. Latest official releases of ZDoom 2.7.1 and GZDoom 1.8.6 will not work, as the HUD uses features that these versions of the engines do not have.
  • It does not work with Zandronum or Skulltag (in case of the latter, it never will be), as they do not have the necessary features.
  • It will only work out of the box with projects that do not alter the player's arsenal. Modification of the HUD is necessary if you want custom weapons and ammo to work with it.

Additional Patch-related Notes: (Last updated on August 13th, 2014)

  • Do not request patches; except for the Brutal Doom patch, the ones I will be making are only for mods that I'm interested in.
  • The patches above assume that you are using unmodified versions of the respective mods. Typically, the patches should work with modified versions of the mods as long as the class names of the weapons and their associated ammo types are left untouched.
  • The main HUD is required for the patches to work. Make sure it is loaded before the patch files, and after any other mods.
  • The icons patch is meant be used with the main HUD alone, if one so desires. Do not mix it with the other patches.

    Brutal Doom patch notes:

    • The patch was tested with brutal19. There are no guarantees that it will work with older versions.
    • The patch is only meant to be used with "vanilla" Brutal Doom. So, if you use an add-on or a mutator of some sort, and it turns out that it does not work, do not come to me and complain about it. I have absolutely no intention of supporting these add-ons and mutators.
    • As with the main HUD, the patches should only be used with the latest ZDoom or GZDoom versions. This is not for Zandronum. And before you ask - no, there will not be a Zandronum patch (see the Important Notes section above as to why).

What's new/changed in this version:

  • Replaced the console (small) font with a bigger one.
  • Increased the size of the inventory bar. It can now show 8 items at once.
  • Tweaked the selected inventory item's position in relation to the inventory box so it is drawn centered.
  • Utilized DrawImage's new scaling feature to scale the ammo icons - goodbye to manual scaling!
  • When displaying the armor icon, the armor's actual sprite is used.
  • Increased the alpha of dimmed elements from 0.35 to 0.5.
  • Reorganized things in the ACS library and removed redundant code.
  • Separated the ACS library into two files; one that contains common code and one that only contains the things which differ across the patches.
  • The HUD's own custom armor and ammo icons are now in a separate patch.
  • Health and armor bars are adjusted dynamically to player's health and the type of armor he/she is wearing.
  • Map's stats are marked when they are achieved. For map time, it is displayed in blue if you are under the map's par time. Once it goes above that, it will turn to white/gray, denoting that you failed to beat the par time.
  • Added a patch-creating guide.

Spoiler: Screenshots
Spoiler: Previous versions
Spoiler: Original post
Last edited by Blue Shadow on Wed Oct 01, 2014 11:31 pm, edited 34 times in total.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Slax » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:38 pm

Still room to show all of your reserve ammo over the ammo counter. Hint hint. ;)
EDIT: Just a personal preference. Can't stand huds without it.
Last edited by Slax on Mon Jun 11, 2012 2:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Slax
UNNH IM A DED GOST
 
Joined: 19 Oct 2010
Location: Porntown, Scandinavia.

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 1:40 pm

This is a very very nice HUD, exactly what I was looking for.

Some suggestions would be for the ammo counter to also display the max amount as well as the current. and for the HUD to work when "hud_scale" is set to true which right now makes it look messed up
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby SFJake » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:29 pm

Like the simplicity of it.

I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

Really like the overall look.
User avatar
SFJake
 
Joined: 03 Nov 2007

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 3:41 pm

Blue Shadow wrote:Note: Due to some issues I ran into, which I couldn't find a solution for (yet), the HUD replaces the normal status bar and not the fullscreen one.

What sort of issues? As far as I can tell, you should be able to just use "statusbar normal, fullscreenoffsets" to make that work...
User avatar
wildweasel
yes, still a forum moderator
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: america, home of the world's most expensive public education system

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xaser » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:50 pm

Ack. Yeah, this should definitely be replacing the fullscreen bar. I currently get this:

Image

This definitely looks great from the screenshot, though! Simple, yet attractive. Hopefully the issue is worked out soonish.
User avatar
Xaser
secretly a supercomputer being a government
 
Joined: 20 Jul 2003
Location: .plɹoʍɹǝʌǝu.

Re: A custom HUD

Postby wildweasel » Mon Jun 11, 2012 5:52 pm

You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.
User avatar
wildweasel
yes, still a forum moderator
 
Joined: 15 Jul 2003
Location: america, home of the world's most expensive public education system

Re: A custom HUD

Postby DTDsphere » Mon Jun 11, 2012 6:57 pm

wildweasel wrote:You could also set the statusbar's Resolution to a number like 800x600, so that even if a user has HUD_SCALE turned on, it'll only scale up to that.

Yes please.
User avatar
DTDsphere
 
Joined: 16 Jun 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 7:35 pm

SFJake wrote:I think Health could use never being blue. I like that it changes color when it gets lower, and it fits better. But then it goes up and gets blue, like the rest of the screen. Thats not ideal, in my opinion.

I appreciate your opinion, but it won't change, sorry. I'd like to keep some consistency with the other bars colors (armor and ammo) as blue being the "normal" color. Turning the health bar to yellow and red is special case.

Plus, I'm not sure I see the need for the weapon numbers, and I'd rather be able to see how much ammo I have.

I thought about not including the arms (weapon numbers), but sometimes I wish I had a way of knowing if I already have weapon x and weapon y. I could try and press the keys on my keyboard to see, however, with the arms dispaly, all I need is a quick glance on the right.

This of course applies to the "reserve" ammo display. That's why I'm gonna try and include it.

wildweasel wrote:What sort of issues?

Well, they're more of annoyences really; one is related to the inventory bar, which I think I've found a solution for (I haven't tried it yet) and the other is the mugshot.

Since I'm using the fullscreenoffsets flag, merely adding the mugshot won't work well, since it'll be too small for the HUD. That's why I scaled it up 200% with the use of TEXTURES. It worked well for the HUD but not that well for the standard Doom status bar. I tried "defining" a new separate mugshot to use specially for the HUD, alas I seem to have failed. So, that's why I did what I did, because I'd rather have it replace Doom's standard statusbar than have a "broken" one.

Long story short; if I want the HUD to replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD, then I'd like to keep Doom's standard status bar intact and unaffected by any changes I could or might have done to my HUD (like the mugshot case above).

For the hud_scale issue and as per wildweasel solution, I used the resolution command and it doesn't seem to affect wherther you've hud_scale on or off, which is what we want. However, I used 640x400 and not 800x600, as the results didn't turn out quite well with the latter.

First post updated to hopefully fix this issue. Could someone test this and see if it works for them as well, please.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 8:27 pm

much better, works with hud_scale now :D except the inventory bar is not scaled still
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Blue Shadow » Mon Jun 11, 2012 10:32 pm

Fixing the hud_scale issue missed up the offest of the inventory bar*. Also, the inventory bar doesn't seem to be affected by hud_scale unlike the rest of the HUD. :?

Man! I never realised how buggy this thing actually is when I uploaded it. It's all because of this hud scale thing. If I knew it would be such an issue, I would have refrained from uploading it.

Anyway, first post is updated with another hotfix. Is it any better?

* It also missed up Doom's standard statusbar. So, forget what I said about keeping Doom's standard status bar intact and having this HUD replace ZDoom's fullscreen HUD. It's gonna stay as it's.
User avatar
Blue Shadow
 
Joined: 14 Nov 2010

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Xtyfe » Mon Jun 11, 2012 11:19 pm

Yep, its aligned now
Xtyfe
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2007
Location: Kitchener, Ontario

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Pachira » Tue Jun 12, 2012 12:53 am

I get an error when I try to play with this in Skulltag.
Code: Select allExpand view
Script error, "nc_custom_hud_v03.pk3:sbarinfo.txt" line 3:
Bad syntax.
User avatar
Pachira
 
Joined: 14 Dec 2010
Location: UAAF Mars

Re: A custom HUD

Postby Nash » Tue Jun 12, 2012 1:05 am

This is a nice custom HUD. If you get the fullscreen version sorted out, I hope you scale down the graphics so it's smaller. Also, shouldn't the ammo icon change depending on the current weapon selected? Currently all weapons use the shotgun shell icon.
User avatar
Nash
 
Joined: 27 Oct 2003
Location: Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Re: A custom HUD

Postby XutaWoo » Tue Jun 12, 2012 2:07 am

Pachira wrote:Skulltag.

There's your problem.
User avatar
XutaWoo
one day when going to see the rabbit, there was a previous visitor ...
 
Joined: 30 Dec 2006
Location: beautiful hills of those who are friends

Next

Return to Projects

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot] and 17 guests